ProjectorPeople Buyers' Comments

Overall Rating

4.55/5.00 (127 reviews since Oct 2004)
Rate this Seller

Nov 12, 2014 Tom from Illinois, USA
This company is the real deal! I was skeptical to order a pricey component like a projector online, but had little choice since Panasonic doesn't retail at any stores in my area.

From the beginning the PP salesperson, Stacey, made me feel very comfortable with her knowledge of projectors, years of experience, and great customer service. Since the PP were also the most cost competitive and had a return policy, I decided to order from them.

Guess what... the projector arrived, defective. Now I was worried... this is just some online store that I found...I am probably screwed. Not so with the projector people. One of the techs, Chris, was very helpful and walked me through how to try getting it working. When it didn't work (clearly the fault of Panasonic, not PP), Chris immediately had it swapped out, and literally by the next day I had my replacement working projector.

Overall a fantastic experience and if you're worried about getting support from an online company, don't be... they go above and beyond!
Dec 8, 2013 kia303 from New York, USA
Ordered a Panasonic AE8000U from Projector People online, had a problem with the fraud protection on my credit card and the order did not go through. Got a call the next day from Lisa and she told me that I may want to wait a few days because a new rebate was coming out. I waited like she said and saved another $350 on the new rebate. I ordered the same projector for a buddy so we saved a bunch of money. Love the service I get from this company, this is my 3rd projector purchase and I have bought two screens from them as well.
Aug 26, 2013 Ben Cox from Virginia, USA
ORDER NUMBER: 908731
I was not well versed on the technicalities of what I wanted in a projector. I told Ryan what my requirements were and I had selected a model that was not too much money. He suggested a BenQ MX520 that would only cost $70 more but better serve me. I mulled this over for a few hours while I checked options. There was never any pressure from Ryan, just detailed advise as to why he thought it would be "bang for the buck". I took his advise and am so happy with this perfect machine. He even adjusted the shipping schedule so I could be available to receive it. TOTAL CUSTOMER SERVICE!!!
Apr 24, 2013 Purvi Bhatt from Ohio, USA
I bought a Panasonic PT-AR100U LCD Projector priced $1299 from projectorpeople.com and I received my projector as I ordered on time. I have no complaints against ordering my projector through their website. I was also suggested a projector mount to go alongwith it but I declined since I wanted to price shop and look into mounting options after receiving the projector. I called back again to get the same mount that I was suggested when I bought the unit. I found it cheaper at other website with free shipping. Projectorpeople website says "Think you have a better price? Call us for the best deal. " So I did and talked to John Sullivan ext 2290. I thought since I bought my projector through them and as they state on their website that they will try to price match why not call them. I told John that the mount was cheaper with free shipping and I was about to give information about the other website but before I do his reply was, "I would say go ahead and buy it from that website since its a great deal." I was very surprised to hear that. And I told him that since I have purchased the projector from their website it would be easier for me to buy the mount from them as well. But he was rude and obnoxious. His response lacked customer service and I was extremely disappointed. The price differnce was $25 which wasn't a big deal but I wish he would said he couldn't pricematch instead of telling me to go ahead and buy it from the other website. He kept on going, saying that why was I calling for only $25. He didn't get it....at that point it wasn't $25. I am going to call the manager and talk to her. But I have to say John definitely needs training in how to talk to his customers. And FYI..I already bought the mount from the other website....cheaper and will receive it 2 days.
Reply from ProjectorPeople:
We are sorry to hear about your recent experience. While it is true that we do our best to match competitor pricing, it is not always possible. Regardless, we strive to provide the best service to our customers and it would seem we failed in this instance. Please call me, I would love the opportunity to make things right....David Pavlicko | eCommerce Manager, Projector People
Dec 18, 2012 mf1776 from North Carolina, USA
I tried to purchase a projector and receiver from Projector People...in part because the receiver was discounted from what I could find elsewhere. The projector arrived no problem but the promised delivery date of the receiver was severely delayed. I ended up cancelling the receiver order...I feel like I was duped into buying the projector for a reduced price of the receiver. I do NOT recommend this store...I would recommend AV Science or another Projector store over these guys.
Reply from ProjectorPeople:
We are sorry for your recent experience. We would never try to 'trick' any of our customers into purchasing an item this way, but I do understand your frustration. Unfortunately in this case, the receiver wound up on back order and took much longer than anticipated to ship out from the distributor.
Oct 1, 2012 Laura Dornbusch from Texas, USA
ORDER NUMBER: 877935
I originally purchased an Epson SHC5010 projector based on several reviews. What I did not do was consider the length of cables I had coming out of my ceiling. 2 of the 3 cords did not reach the appropriate plugs on the back of the Epson. I contacted Todd at Projector People and he not only researched the various projectors within the class I was looking at, but also processed the return of the Epson SHC5010. He did not even question my issue once I explained the wiring had been run by an electrician and spanned 20 feet. Better than that he didn't chastise me for not considering the hardwiring issues. I have installed the Panasonic PT-AE7000U. It is amazing! The colors are vibrant, the options for setting the colors are very flexible. I installed it with another female friend of mine in about 30 minutes (it is a little heavy for one person to hold up and adjust all the screws), then spent approximately 1 hour selecting all the appropriate settings. I am extremely pleased with Projector People, especially Todd, and I will not be purchasing anything they can sell me from any other supplier. Their service is phenomenal.
Aug 6, 2012 JimC from Washington, USA
ORDER NUMBER: 2066110
This is the second projector I have ordered from Projector People. When I order my next one I will absolutely order from them again. Professional, fast shipping, well packaged, fair price. Can't say enough good things.
Mar 9, 2012 hippy777 from Alaska, USA
I found their website to be informative and easy to navigate but one of their best features was the instant chat. I had some questions about which mount to get so I started a chat session and was greeted by Carmen A. Carmen was very knowledgeable and spent the time to not only answer my direct questions but dig a little deeper to ensure I had the right gear for my situation. She ended up calling me on the phone as our conversation got a little long winded for typing. Shipping was reasonable and the projector with mount showed up with in the week. The mount worked great :)
Feb 12, 2012 sleeper from Texas, USA
Projector people's customer service was EXCELLENT. Stacy was our customer representative and she was very knowledgable about all the products. Everything arrived intact and one time. I placed an online order and ordered an epson 3010 from them which included 2 3d glasses. I ordered 2 additional glasses because I needed 4. She went out of her way to call me up just to make sure that I knew that the epson already came with 2 glasses and that I wasn't unnecessarily ordering extra items. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.
Oct 14, 2011 C Slaughter from California, USA
ORDER NUMBER: 894233
Talk about great service. From helping me find the right product, to going over features, to getting the item ordered. All I can say is WOW. If only every company operated like you guys, life would be much better. Mike Norton, my sales rep, stuck with me the whole way. Never any pressure to buy, very patient, and knows how to follow up. You guys are great.
Oct 3, 2011 sharad from Indiana, USA
ORDER NUMBER: 846862
Excellent customer Service. They will go extra mile to solve your problems and return issues. recently replaced faulty projector with Optoma HD33. and my sales rep was Sarah Buss.
Sep 1, 2011 chris Murphy from wc, South Africa
benq w1000+
They advertised two options for the product i desired, one new at $979 and the other used at $929. {Incidentally this model has been removed from the site since my complaint.}
I bought the $979 model.

They delayed the purchase and routed me through google payments instead of there own system as i was using a foreign credit card. They then took the money without telling me it would take 5 business days to process this after the money had been charged. The item shipped via Fedex, when it arrived it was not the item i ordered and was a used unit with no packaging and missing part of the order. i complained and they gave me some story about fedex defruading them and the FBI investigating this. They sent me a RMA with UPS this time which i found strange as surely if you are accusing fedex you would have them rectify "there" mistake. Anyway i dually sent the item back and then waited further weeks for my money to be returned. I suspect them of using my money for other means as they had it for nearly a month and when i was refunded the amount came back to my card $+-40 short. This could be exchange fluctuation however its a big difference and the dollar has strengthened so if anything it should be the inverse. They are fraudulent advertisers misrepresenting what they can supply and according to benq site are not the official agents for benq as there site claims. I dont believe that a company operating out of the USA should conduct itself in this manner and deliberately deceive buyers and hold the buyers funds for such a long period of time despite the problem being theres. It is really annoying to loose funds through no fault of my own other then trusting a usa based online vendors integrity. They provide no warning prior to purchase that this is a risk one takes when using PP despite knowing i was foreign.

I buy alot of things in the USA online and have never had an expereince like this.

They have no integrity or sense of customer service and the attitude and effort made to resolve the fact that they have supplied you a used item sold as new is ZERO. They barely responded.

Delivery time is also pathetically slow, rather then 2 days try a week.

Not to be trusted, go to proper shop maybe it will cost you another $10.
Reply from ProjectorPeople:
Hi Chris,

We're sorry you had so much trouble with Google payments. Unfortunately that's the only way we can process foreign credit cards. As our sales manager said in her email to you, we will gladly refund the $35 that was lost due to the exchange rate during the refund process. Hopefully you have received that by now.

Projector People is an authorized dealer of all the manufacturers we carry. We pride ourselves on delivering quality products and quality service. We're sorry to hear that any of our customers had an unsatisfactory experience.

Best,
The Projector People
May 19, 2011 Houston Offshore Engineering from Texas, USA
We purchased the Mitsubishi XD600U and FD630U. Ron was very helpful in answering all of our questions and not trying to sell us items that were not needed.
Apr 1, 2011 tho from Texas, USA
I recently purchased a Mitsubishi HC4000 from PP and called them the next day to describe the light spills problem with the projector. One spill is a bright field of light of about 4 feet long by 2 inches wide on the left side, two feet away from the screen. The other is a 6 feet long light by 1/2 inches wide on the bottom about a foot from the screen. I talked with Mr. E, from the PP tech department, and he said I need to take a few pictures and email them to him to assess. What the heck!??? I think he was thinking that I don't have any experience with projectors. I told him that I have had four DLP projectors in the past and none had this issue. He then agreed to accept the return. A few days later, Mr. E called me and confirmed that there is a light spill problem. He also said that he has pulled another new unit, tested it and it has the same problem. I asked him to give me one day to look into the problem and will decide what to do next. I went on the AVS forum and asked for help. Those guys on the forum were awesome. Most said they don't have this problem, except one and he said it's not bad enough with is unit and is something he can live with. I called PP the next day to report my findings. Mr. E stated that because of the inherent light spill problem with DLP projectors, there is nothing he can do. Further, he will charge me 15% restocking fee for returning the unit. He further stated that I will also have to pay 15% restocking fee if I want a new one!!! I must admit I had 12 hours on the light bulb. Regardless, the unit is defective, it should be a full refund. Very disappointed...
Feb 23, 2011 4boys from Oklahoma, USA
After shopping 5-6 different sellers, ProjectorPeople gave me the best price on the Epson 8350 projector. I worked with Ryan Schneegold at 1-800-639-3010 ext. 2281. As a result of the Oklahoma snow storms he was kind enough to reroute shipping of the projector in midshipment to allow arrival in time for my triplet boys birthday. I would buy from them again.
Jan 6, 2011 RLSnyder from Pennsylvania, USA
I've purchased several projectors from Projector People. Their prices are great they shipped the product the same day I placed the order. They were very helpful in picking the correct product for the intended application.
Dec 18, 2010 Paul S from Washington, USA
I was doing a web search to upgrade my old InFocus 1X and found the web site for Projector Central very informative and relevant. I bookmarked the site. That site lead me to ProjectorPeople.com . I fully recommend ProjectorPeople.com to anyone looking for home theater gear. I made a purchase of cables and a screen in early fall and was pleased enough to forgo the box store (get it today urge) and made another purchase from them for my projector too. I have been delighted with the products and my projector expert, Sara. I wish more online sites did business at this level.
Sep 27, 2010 Diego from Texas, USA
I wanted to replace my old BenQ PB8250. After extensive review of the projectors, I finally decided to buy the Panasonic ae4000u. I ordered it from ProjectorPeople and was very pleased with their service. I got an almost immediate email confirming my order, a phone call to check if I was the same person as stated in the credit card; and a later email to let me know that the projector was on its way via UPS (free) with an EAT of 4 days (they included the tracking number too). As expected, it arrived in 4 days in a double box and in perfect condition. I installed it the next day and was enjoying BDs and HDTV that weekend. These people are great!
Aug 29, 2010 Anna from New York, USA
I purchased a hard-to-find InFocus Projector model from Projector People, which I needed very quickly for a meeting. The price was right, and the overnight shipping cost was very reasonable, and it arrived safely and quickly. Many thanks for excellent service!
Aug 18, 2010 Nigel from North Carolina, USA
From their easy to use website, to their polite customer service, ProjectorPeople.com provided an excellent customer experiance when purchasing my Panasonic AE4000U.