Review Contents
Conclusion
Performance
Features
Ease of Use
Value
Intended Use:
Home Theater
Samsung SP-A800B Projector Samsung SP-A800B
(add to Compare List)
Go to My Compare List

10000:1 Contrast Ratio
1000 Lumens
Street Price: n/a
$9,999 MSRP

Samsung SP-A800B
1080p Home Theater
Projector Review

Evan Powell, November 3, 2008

Conclusions

When it comes to color accuracy and gray scale tracking, the Samsung SP-A800B does as well as any projector we've ever seen. It delivers a beautiful, natural picture that is exceptionally engaging. Joe Kane's attention to detail here is evident, as few projectors rival the SP-A800B's color accuracy and smoothness of gray scale. For any buyer who is concerned primarily with the highest level of precision in color accuracy, this projector should be at the top of the list.

Contrast and black levels are good, but competing units exceed the SP-A800B in this regard. The picture is quite sharp due to outstanding optics, but ironically not quite as clear and three-dimensional as some of the competition. This is due in part to the graininess in the image that is not as evident in the new LCD and LCOS projectors, and in part to somewhat lower contrast.

The competitive weaknesses in the SP-A800B are related to the underlying DLP technology. If we had reviewed this projector earlier this year it would have stood out as a stronger unit compared to most other 1080p projectors in the field at that time. But in light of the remarkable competitive revelations of the last two months, we are left wondering what marvel in home theater excellence could be produced by the resources of Samsung and the talent of Joe Kane if they were to collaborate on a projector built around a DarkChip4, or one of the latest LCD light engines.

Previous Page
Limitations
Review Contents: Overview Advantages Limitations Conclusion
 

Reader Comments(8 comments)

Posted Feb 7, 2010 7:45:57 PM

By ejpk

Post a Comment Alert Moderator
in Korea, this product goes for less than 3000 as of now, and epson 8100 is about the same price there (sine epson is an import)--it is seriously overpriced here probably coz of the name Joe Kane

Posted Dec 24, 2009 5:53:52 AM

By Pescatore

Post a Comment Alert Moderator
WHAT THE ---- IS GOING ON? My dealer told me yesterday that this P.O.S. that I spend $10,000 for projector + install got DISCONTINUE ALREADY????

I HATE SAMSUNG. 1. This projector never focus on the edge of screen. 2) They take my $$$ and laugh at me and discontinue this S---.

Posted Nov 5, 2008 11:16:02 AM

By kevinp

Post a Comment Alert Moderator
I'am with kevo on this. Reading the review and the specs I can't see that this projector produces a picture good enough to spend $10,000 it seems to only have the edge on a $2,500 panasonic because of colour accuracy. Since most people are not around when the movie is being shot and don't have a photograhic memory to recall with 100% accuracy the colours they saw at the cinema. Is it really worth the extra $7,500.

Posted Nov 5, 2008 3:39:09 AM

By Christophe Cherel

Post a Comment Alert Moderator
The Samsung SP-A800B does'nt have a "wide" gamut. It is the big positive point : there is not only ONE gamut but the 3 video gamuts and there is a switch gamut function for it. Another big point is calibration : The samsung can be calibrated accuratly with the CCA advanced function (xyY coordonates for primary colors).

Another test of the projector : http://www.google.com/translate?u=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.hdsoir.com%2F2008%2F09%2Fsamsung-sp-a800b-banc-dessais.html&langpair=fr|en&hl=fr&ie=UTF8

Posted Nov 4, 2008 9:45:08 PM

By Comrade

Post a Comment Alert Moderator
Kevo, have you seen this projector? Based on your comments, I sure hope so. I think 10k for an entire "high-end" system is a gross miscalculation. Some people invest that into two speakers. Specs do not mean performance.

Posted Nov 4, 2008 5:08:26 PM

By ProBono

Post a Comment Alert Moderator
One quick note: The reviewer talks about what "videophiles" may want or not want. Well, if you're not a "videophile", why the hell are you reviewing projectors on one of the most read projector-sites? Who cares what non-videophiles want. If you shell out 10k for a PJ, wouldn't you consider yourself a videophile?

Posted Nov 4, 2008 5:03:33 PM

By ProBono

Post a Comment Alert Moderator
First off: I know people who own this PJ, so I have watched several films on it, although I do not (yet?) own one myself.

Kevo: Do you base that statement on this review, or have you actually seen this PJ? I believe that to say the things the reviewer does in this review about the in-use PQ against modern LCD's, the reviewer must have a screwed-up idea about what a good picture looks like. Obviously, if you don't want to look at films the way they were made, this PJ is not for you, but I have no clue as to why you would want anything else than that. If that IS what you want, no other 10k PJ does this as well as the Samsung. I believe the conclusion of this review says a LOT more about the reviewer than about the PJ. A review should say something about whether or not the product lives up to what's promised or not, compared to the competition, not say something about whether the reviewer personally likes frame interpolation or not. Why focus on the reviewers (screwed up) personal opinion about what pictures should look like, and not focus on the fact that even this reviewer acknowledges that no other projector in this price range puts out an image as accurate as this? BTW, I believe that ANSI contrast measurement must be downright flawed.

Wors. Review. Ever.

Posted Nov 4, 2008 2:56:41 PM

By kevo

Post a Comment Alert Moderator
i cant believe they are punting this for 10,000 . you could buy a home theater couch with a high end sound system and a better projector and still have enough money to splurge on all the electronic goodies u could want.i cant believe it ten grand i mean ccccccome on!!!!!!! joe cane is a retard for thinking were gona buy this

Post a comment

Commenting on this article is easy and does not require any registration. Your email address is necessary for you to activate your comment once it has been submitted. It will not be shown to other site viewers. ProjectorCentral reserves the right to remove any comment at any time for any reason. Foul language is not permitted, nor are personal attacks. All comments should remain on topic.

Name:

Email Address:(used only to confirm your comment)

Your Comment:

(Enter the numbers as they appear to the left)