ProjectorCentral.com
WORLD'S LARGEST
PROJECTOR RESOURCE
Celebrating 20 Years
Top 10 Find a Projector Reviews Throw CalculatorCalc Buyer's Guide Expert Blogs Projector Forums
Share:

Epson Home Cinema 3800 4K PRO-UHD Projector Review

Review Contents
Best Home Theater Projector
Performance
4.5
Features
Ease of Use
Value
Intended Use:
DIY Home Theater
Epson Home Cinema 3800 Projector Epson Home Cinema 3800
(add to Compare List)
Go to My Compare List

100000:1 Contrast Ratio
3000 Lumens
Full HD 3D
$1,699 Street Price

Measurements & Connections

Brightness. The brightest mode for the 3800 came close to the 3,000 lumen rating, at 2,912 ANSI lumens. Setting the 1.62x zoom lens to its widest angle setting yielded measured ANSI lumens for High, Medium, and ECO modes in each color mode as follows:

Epson Home Cinema 3800 ANSI Lumens

High Medium ECO
Dynamic 2,912 2,670 2,161
Bright Cinema 2,269 2,080 1,683
Natural 2,176 1,995 1,615
Cinema 1,623 1,488 1,204

Zoom Lens Light Loss: 6%

Brightness Uniformity (Wide Zoom): 87%

Brightness Uniformity (Full Telephoto Zoom): 84%

Lowest Measured Input Lag (4K): 20.6 ms
Lowest Measured Input Lag (1080p): 28 - 28.5 ms.
Epson specs 16.7 ms as the input lag with the Fast setting and about twice that with the Fine setting. In our tests, however, none of Epson's suggestions for changing settings had any significant effect on the tested input lag. Epson is conducting further tests and we will update our comments as new information becomes available. As things stand, the measured results shown above are in line with other projectors we've tested in Epson's current product line and are relatively low among home theater projectors, though they fall short of the 16 ms threshold that the most competitive online gamers seek out.

Fan Noise. In ECO mode, rated at 24 dB, the 3800 is hard to hear even in quiet moments in a quiet room. The noise level in Medium, rated at 32 dB, is loud enough that some may find it annoying while others find it acceptable, particularly in a family room with ambient noise. In High mode, rated at 35 dB, the noise level is enough to easily notice from anywhere in a small to mid-size room. Most people will likely find it distracting even in a family room and may want to consider some form of acoustic isolation.

High Altitude mode, which Epson recommends using at 4,921 feet and above, is loud enough even in ECO mode to be noticeable, but not terribly distracting, even in quiet moments. For Medium and High modes combined with High Altitude, most people will likely want to consider some form of acoustic isolation.

Connections

Epson HC3800 Connections

• (2) HDMI 2.0b (both with HDCP 2.2)
• (1) USB Type A (power only)
• (1) USB Type A (for wireless accessory and firmware updates)
• (1) Mini USB (service only)
• (1) Audio out mini jack (3.5mm)
• (1) RS-232 (D-sub 9 pin; for control)
• (1) DC 12v trigger 200 mAh max (3.5mm)
• Bluetooth speaker support, including aptX
• Supports Optional USB Wi-Fi dongle (for static images only, not video)

Previous Page
Performance, Conclusion
Review Contents: Introduction, Features Performance, Conclusion Measurements, Connections
Get competitive price quotes
by email direct from Epson dealers

Get an E-Z Quote
Comments (19) Post a Comment
Georg Posted Oct 31, 2019 4:41 AM PST
Hi,

The projector looks quite promising, thank you for the detailed review.

Your projection calculator does currently not include the vertical lens shift. Any chance you will include it?

Is there a vertical offset of the picture compared to the center of lens? Or, is the picture by default in the center of the lens (half below, half above the projector)?

Depending on where the picture sits, it makes quite an impact on the placement possibilities, especially in ceiling mount situations with this amount of vertical lens shift.
Mike Porter Posted Oct 31, 2019 3:29 PM PST
Thanks for the great review. This seems like the perfect projector for my golf simulator. Quick question, I looked in the manual and the resolution looked really limited. Only one 4:3 (VGA) resolution listed and no 16:10 listed. It did say something about Epson SizeWise which allows for other resolutions, but I wasn't clear on whether that was just non-native resolutions listed, or whether it could display other resolutions like 2560x1600 (16:10). That would by my ideal for the golf simulator, and I have a video card that can easily handle that. Are you able to confirm if the 3800 can display this resolution? Thanks!
Rob Sabin, Editor Posted Nov 1, 2019 6:56 AM PST
Mike, the full list of acceptable display formats is on page 147 of the manual. Bottom line: this is a 16:9 projector using a 1920x1080 chip, and through Epson's on-board processing (what they're calling their "SizeWise" chip) is made to accept the signals in the chart, which are all industry standard signal types ranging from 640x480 up to 4096x 2160. I would not expect it to accept any signal not already in the chart.
Harrison Posted Nov 1, 2019 9:21 AM PST
Thank you for the review. Looks like another great option in the sub $2000 price range. For a 4K HDR movie viewing experience, how does the 3800 compare to the HT3550 from BenQ?
Rob Sabin, Editor Posted Nov 1, 2019 10:57 AM PST
Harrison, we no longer have an HT3550 on hand to compare this with directly but that's an obvious question. Our reviewer really liked the HT3550 at its $1,500 price point and you can find a direct face-off between the BenQ HT3550 and the Epson HC4010 here, the latter of which has some things in common with the HC3800. The most clear differences are going to be overall lumen output (higher with the HC3800), perhaps some differences in sharpness (it's a little unclear if these will be similar to the differences with the HC4010, which has a better lens), and perhaps most critically some differences in the HDR tone-mapping. The HC3800 has even more advanced tone-mapping than the 4010 with its 16-step control, while the HT3550 is more limited in its ability to adjust for specific content. That said, there were some areas where the HT3550's tone-map was different and more effective than the HC4010's. Note that the HC3200, the HC3800's step down, is a more price appropriate comparison with the HT3550, but lacks the HC3800's notably higher contrast ratio rating.
Terry Posted Nov 1, 2019 9:34 PM PST
I need to get into 4K and ditch my 5030UB. Considering the brightness, could the 3800 provide a perceived contrast that matches the 5030UB?
Rob Sabin, Editor Posted Nov 3, 2019 9:23 AM PST
Terry, this is something you'd really have to compare side by side with two optimally adjusted projectors, but I really doubt you'll get the same blacks and contrast as on your 5030UB in a dark room without moving to another UB projector within the Epson line, which would mean the 5050UB in today's line up. Just based on specs, and assuming they're still measuring contrast the same way since they released the 5030UB in 2013, contrast is rated 6 times higher on the 5030UB than the 3800. Also, the higher brightness in the 3800 (3,000 lumens vs 2,400 lumens in the 5300UB)works against, not in favor of deeper blacks/higher contrast for dark room viewing. My advise is that if you've had a good experience with your 5030 and want to stay in the Epson family is to save up for the 5050UB and know that you'll be enjoying a big upgrade when you make the move.
Devin Posted Nov 3, 2019 7:42 PM PST
The lower pixel count kind of bothers me compared to pixel shifting DLP projectors. Is there really a big difference between this projector's 4k image vs say the Optoma UHD50/UHD60 or BenQ TK800M? I know that the end of that paragraph softens the blow, but I wish it would mention those projectors that it surpasses or is comparable with despite the lack of pixels.
Rob Sabin, Editor Posted Nov 6, 2019 5:38 AM PST
Devin, thanks for asking the question here. Bottom line: if there's a difference in detail from Epson's 1080p pixel-shifting approach and any of the 4K DLP projectors you mentioned from normal viewing distances, it'll be due primarily to differences in lens quality and processing, not from the difference in pixel count. So far in our experience, Epson's latest iteration of its 4K PRO-UHD shifting/processing combined with the usually excellent lenses they mate it with pretty much nullifies any advantage from the additional pixels in a 4K DLP.
Jimmy Posted Nov 6, 2019 11:00 PM PST
Thanks for the review, was curious to see someone's thoughts on it. BUT why does no review site comment on Anamorphic modes anymore? It's not just this projector but pretty much everything. And it's not just ProjectorCentral - it's every review site.

It's not like those of us with Anamorphic lenses just vanished in thin air. It's hard enough that manufacturers put this buried in the manual, but one would hope that professional reviewers would at least mention it in a 6 word sentence.

For those interested by the way the 3800 is supposed to have anamorphic stretch for Anamorphic lenses while the 3200 doesn't have that feature.
Rob Sabin, Editor Posted Nov 6, 2019 11:10 PM PST
Jimmy, you're absolutely right. Given that the inclusion of anamorphic modes is by no means universal these days, and is perhaps waning in the budget class under $2,000, we should be mentioning this in the review when it appears.

Where there are questions on this, readers should know that our projector database page on any projector we review (which can be accessed by clicking the model name in the product details box at the top of the review) usually contains links to a PDF of the spec sheet and user manual. The manual shared by the HC3200 and HC3800 does indeed cite two anamorphic aspect ratio modes for the HC3800 only, as picked up below:

Anamorphic Wide

(Home Cinema 3800)

Displays images recorded at Cinema Scope size when you attach a

commercially available anamorphic lens to the projector.

Horiz. Squeeze

(Home Cinema 3800)

Stretches the horizontal aspect of the image when you attach a

commercially available anamorphic lens to the projector.
José Doblado Posted Nov 7, 2019 4:38 AM PST
Hello friends: Did you test the HC3800 VS HC3200? are really contrast so different or is comercial issue from Epson?. thanks you very much
Rob Sabin, Editor Posted Nov 7, 2019 9:10 AM PST
Jose, we have not looked at the HC3200 yet, but the difference in rated contrast is significant enough that it should be visible in the low black level of challenging dark scenes in a dark room theater environment. It is not likely to make a noticeable difference in any kind of ambient light viewing. If you never watch in the dark and don't need any of the other features exclusive to the 3800 (ie, built-in audio or an anamorphic aspect ratio mode), you can save some money.
Chiz Posted Nov 8, 2019 11:37 AM PST
Hey... I own a Epson HC 2040, it is approx 10 feet from wall with a 120" image. I purchased the BenQ HT2550 when it released but image was not big enough at 10 ft away and I can not go further due to a beam in the ceiling dividing the room. I am looking to upgrade my HC 2040 and get into a mid range 4k but I am not good at understanding all the specs, hoping you can help. I have 2 questions and pretty sure I know the answer to the 1st, but the 2nd is the question I really need the answer on.

1. Is the HC3200 a good upgrade from my HC 2040? My guess is yes.

2. Do you think the HC3200 can give me the size image I currently have without going further away?

Also I see the HC3200 on the USA best buy but not canada, any idea when it will be available here in canada? Thanks so Much in advance!! Huge help.
J.R. Posted Nov 8, 2019 2:37 PM PST
Hello,

My question is which is the superior projector - the HC3800 or the 4010 I’m your opinion?

I’ve had the Epson HC3500 the last few years and have enjoyed its solid overall performance, but I’m ready to upgrade to the 4K or rather faux 4K.

I have a small home theater in about a 9x12 foot room, and have my walls painted a very dark grey (almost gray/black) and a Silver Ticket 100 inch screen. Ambient light isn’t a concern.

The 5050 is probably a little bit more than I want to pay, so I’m primarily looking at the 3800 and 4010.

What would you choose? The HDR slider in the 3800 is an enticing feature but is the 4010 better overall for movie watching? I still like to play lots of blu-rays and soon UHD discs.

Thanks for your time and take care!
vid53 Posted Nov 10, 2019 2:07 PM PST
I am looking to get into a 4k picture at a reasonable price. Would the brightness and picture be better then my Sony 45ES model?
Jim Posted Nov 10, 2019 3:27 PM PST
Great review. I've ordered the 3200 (or EH-TW7000 as it is known here in the UK) which should be arriving some time within the next week. So just to be clear for HDR the best mode to use is Cinema with a little tweaking? I watch a lot of 4k HDR content and I know it wont be as good as a TV but it will be replacing an old DLP projector that had weak colours. There also seems to be some differences in specs on the UK/EU and US Epson websites. On the US page it says the 3200 has a lower lumen output but in the UK/EU both models are 3000 lumens. Also it looks as if the UK gets better pricing and warranty (currently £899 or $1150 for the 3200) with 3 year lamp warranty in the UK.
Ben Posted Nov 11, 2019 6:21 AM PST
Spot on review. Got mine on 11/7. Lens shift makes placement easy. I’m throwing it on an Elite Screens 120 1.1 gain motorized from 13 ft. IT IS BRIGHT! Cinema mode is plenty for daylight viewing with a curtain-covered window in the room. 4K gaming is amazing. No lag noticed at all. Upscaling from 1080p bluRay on Xbox one with Image Enhancement ON introduced a lot of image noise. Ready Player One during the Shining scene was almost unwatchable. Turned Image Enhancement off and it cleared up the pixel noise. 4K UHD disc looked incredible (Godzilla: King of Monsters). So much more detail in dark scenes. TV feed at 1080p does show some haloing around moving objects...watched a golfer walk on a green to his ball and it looked like he had a force-field around him. Could be the signal...my cable tv sucks.

Still need to check out Netflix and Amazon 4K streaming. This thing has a ton of settings. Manual is 164 pages. Easy to get lost if you don’t know what you’re doing. Not a lot of internet reviews yet so playing with this thing iit’s easy to get lost.

Oh...color out of the box is a bit muted. Turned up color saturation, contrast, and dropped brightness a bit and it looks much better. Still haven’t adjusted for the green bias, but may try that today.
Rob Sabin, Editor Posted Nov 11, 2019 7:11 AM PST
Thanks for the feedback here, Ben. If you've not experimented yet with the Preset modes for the enhancement (1 through 5) you may find you can dial down the enhancement effect and noise on some content that tends to show it without totally sacrificing the sharpening effect as happens when you turn the enhancement off fully. All a matter of degrees--though this is also dependent on some of your other picture settings and the content itself.

Post a comment

Commenting on this article is easy and does not require any registration. Your email address is necessary for you to activate your comment once it has been submitted. It will not be shown to other site viewers. ProjectorCentral reserves the right to remove any comment at any time for any reason. Foul language is not permitted, nor are personal attacks. No HTML allowed. All comments should remain on topic.

Name:

Email Address:(used only to confirm your comment)

Your Comment:

(Enter the numbers as they appear to the left)