ProjectorCentral.com
WORLD'S LARGEST
PROJECTOR RESOURCE
Celebrating 20 Years
Top 10 Find a Projector Reviews Throw CalculatorCalc Buyer's Guide Expert Blogs Projector Forums
Share:
Review Contents
Best Home Theater Projector
Performance
4
Features
Ease of Use
Value
Intended Use:
DIY Home Theater
Acer H6510BD Projector Acer H6510BD
(add to Compare List)
Go to My Compare List

Street Price: n/a
3D: Full HD 3D
Contrast:10,000:1
Lumens:3000
Weight: 4.8 lbs
Resolution:1920x1080
Aspect Ratio:16:9
Technology:DLP
Lens:1.3x manual
Lens Shift:No
Lamp Life:4,000 Hrs
7,000 (eco)
Lamp Cost:$179.00
Warranty:1 year
Connectors:  S-Video, Composite, Component, VGA In, VGA Out, HDMI 1.4 (x2), USB, RS232
Video Formats:  480i, 480p, 720p, 1080i, 1080p/60, 1080p/24, 1080p/50, 576i, 576p

Acer H6510BD
1080p 3D Home Video Projector

Bill Livolsi, April 12, 2013

Shootout: Acer H6510BD versus BenQ W1070

The Acer H6510BD's closest competitor is the BenQ W1070. Both projectors are native 1080p, DLP-based, and have full 3D compatibility. Both have dual HDMI ports, 1.3:1 manual zoom lenses, and long-life lamps. So what sets these two projectors apart?

Image quality. Despite similar specifications, the images from the H6510BD and W1070 are very different in their character. Both projectors produce similar amounts of light and have similar black levels, but the W1070 produces a smoother, more balanced, more natural-looking image than the H6510BD. Color is more accurate and better saturated on the W1070. In images with strong highlights, the W1070 does not have the screaming-bright whites of the H6510BD, which makes it look more like reality. If video quality is a primary concern, the W1070 has several distinct advantages.

3D. The W1070 has a qualitative advantage when it comes to 3D. While the H6510BD is brighter by far, the W1070 has the advantage of a faster refresh rate. By refreshing at 144 Hz to the H6510BD's 96 Hz, the W1070 shows less flicker and a smoother overall picture. Neither projector has a crosstalk problem, largely due to the fact that DLP Link is not especially prone to crosstalk.

Brightness. Both projectors' calibrated modes measure somewhere in the neighborhood of 1300 lumens. The H6510BD has a brighter maximum output, at 2524 to the W1070's 1554, so users looking for a living-room projector might want to take that into consideration.

Contrast. The W1070 and H6510BD have similar black levels, and both render shadow detail well, so contrast is effectively a tie.

Color. The W1070 has a distinct advantage when it comes to color. Not only does the projector's better saturated, more accurate color give it a clear advantage in HD content, but it also has more accurate color straight out of the box for users who don't want to fiddle around in the menus. Both projectors can be calibrated to 6500K grayscale, but the W1070's more accurate gamma and better saturation give it an edge even so.

Rainbows. The W1070's 6x-speed RGBRGB wheel shows significantly fewer rainbows than the H6510BD's 2x-speed RGBCMY wheel. If you are sensitive to rainbows, that's worth considering.

Features. The W1070 has a small amount of vertical lens shift while the H6510BD has none. On the other hand, the H6510BD has 2D to 3D conversion while the W1070 does not. The H6510BD's lamp life is slightly longer, while its fan is quieter.

Conclusion

The Acer H6510BD may be the most affordable full 3D projector available today. At $799, it delivers an attractive image that's great for high-definition films and video in either a darkened theater or a living room.

While the W1070 has advantages over the H6510BD in several important areas, it also costs about 20% more than the H6510BD. Neither projector comes with 3D glasses, but both use inexpensive DLP Link eyewear rather than a proprietary solution. These days, especially when working with entry-level projectors, that $200 gap can be important to some people. As always, it is up to the user to determine whether the additional image quality is worth the extra money.

Previous Page
Limitations
Review Contents: The Viewing Experience Key Features Performance Limitations
  Shootout vs BenQ W1070
Comments (17)
Ted Nunn Posted Apr 13, 2013 12:43 PM PST
Thanks for your review on the new Acer H5610BD projector. I also appreciated your decision to incorporate a shoot out between it and the Benq W1070. I am sure that this has helped a number of people decide which projector to buy. It is not easy to experience a demonstration of these products in a store, much less have the opportunity to compare them in calibrated and uncalibrated conditions. Thanks for another great review!!!
S G Posted Apr 15, 2013 2:54 PM PST
I'm glad I bought the Acer over the Benq now since our proj is installed in a room where the ambient lightning is not controlled but,light is reduced well with normal window blinds. Kinda disappointing on the 3D refresh rate but, since the projector has high lumens it must show the image brighter than the Benq but, then is prone to flickering. I guess it's a trade-off type of thing. Unfortunately, no information about the refresh rate was listed on Acer's website and tech support didn't know either. Still a great projector for my first one!
davidm Posted Apr 18, 2013 12:54 PM PST
I have a Viewsonic Pro8200, which is really distractingly loud, even in eco/low light mode. Would this model be significantly quieter?
Bill Livolsi Posted Apr 22, 2013 12:30 PM PST
davidm - while I don't have the Pro8200 in front of me, I do remember that it was quite loud. The H6510BD should be significantly quieter than the Pro8200.
S G Posted Apr 25, 2013 3:40 PM PST
Bill,

How did you determine the speed (Mz) of the 3D glasses because the manual only talks about 3D specs (120hz)with a computer and Acer support could not even answer this question for a stand-alone Bluray player.

Just curious because I want to buy glasses but, I don't want to purchase the wrong ones.

Thanks!
Tony Sammo Posted Apr 28, 2013 9:50 PM PST
so what are the best glasses to work with this projector?
SakkeL Posted May 2, 2013 10:53 PM PST
SainSonic branded SSZ-200DLB 144HZ 3D Active Rechargeable Shutter Glasses.
Kevin H Posted May 8, 2013 8:13 AM PST
I have two words for those that are considering getting this projector...DO IT!

My Dell 1409X started having the white dot issue (DMD chip?) shortly after putting in a new bulb. I decided on an upgrade. I had researched several projectors and had decided on the BenQ W1070. Just before getting the BenQ, I saw the Acer H6510BD. It was cheaper and the specs were close to the BenQ. So, I got it. It has great picture and color and blew my Dell 1409X out of the water. I had to get a new screen as well for the larger picture. I am projecting on a Elite 16:9 135-inch (M135UWH) screen at just under 12 feet away. I got the screen and the projector for under $1,000 from Amazon. The only con I can think of is the angle of the throw. I think it would work better attached to the ceiling. Not doing 3D yet so I can comment to that aspect.
Anil Posted May 13, 2013 2:09 PM PST
HI, I bought this projector. This is good projector for the $$$. I guess i have an issue, the projection Projection screen is no rectangle. If I project from table, it looks as image goes towards right, it narrows down. Basically the horizontal lines are not parallel. I though it is my illusion due to Projector surface, but I measured the height from right and left sides. They are not same. Left side height is 2” less than the right side (projected on 90” diagonal). Any one knows how to correct it or it’s a projector issue?
Angel Posted Jun 10, 2013 4:28 AM PST
Hi! you say:

"Color wheel. With a six-segment RGBCMY color wheel spinning at 7200RPM, the H6510BD has a 2X-speed color wheel. This means those sensitive to rainbows will see them in droves. As there are other projectors around this price range with faster color wheels, the H6510BD could be a poor choice for anyone with a known sensitivity to color separation artifacts."

"Rainbows. The W1070's 4x-speed RGBRGB wheel shows significantly fewer rainbows than the H6510BD's 2x-speed RGBCMY wheel. If you are sensitive to rainbows, that's worth considering."

The h6510BD at 7200rmp --> 2x at 60hz + six-segment wheel = ¿4x at 60hz? ¿or its 2x because w1070 is RGBRGB and h6510bd is RGBCMY?

I have the h6510bd and I've noticed that putting it from 60hz hdmi to 50hz hdmi, color wheel is heard speeding, does that may mean that it gets to 7500rpm?

If it gets to 7500rpm --> 2,5x at 50hz + sig segment wheel = ¿5x at 50hz?
Joey Posted Jul 24, 2013 11:07 AM PST
That's normal, it's called horizontal keystone. Basically the projector is not squared to the wall. If the horizontal edges converge to the right, you need to aim the picture more to the right (the distance the light travels will dictate the amount of keystone). Most projectors have vertical keystone correction but not horizontal, so you have to adjust the projector position appropriately.
jcc Posted Jul 30, 2013 5:13 PM PST
Can you use a higher frequency glasses? This projector has a 96Hz, would the 3d work with let's say a 125 Hz?

Thanks
Laggy? Posted Aug 29, 2013 1:00 PM PST
Bill,

What was the input lag test results?
Jeff Posted Dec 3, 2013 11:13 AM PST
Any idea how long the bulb should last? It would be a shame if replacement costs over time outprice the unit. Had this issue with a Mitsubishi in the past.
RAMA Posted Mar 5, 2014 1:09 PM PST
Please tell me guys which glasses work with this projector. I bought the Xpand Yuniversal X104 adn X103 but I failed to make it working. TIA
Spectre Posted Mar 25, 2014 7:58 AM PST
This info is clearly listed in the specs:

Lamp Life: 4,000 Hrs 7,000 (eco
Ashish Posted Oct 4, 2015 11:10 PM PST
Hi Bill, I am little bit confused in deciding between Acer h6510bd and Benq w1070. If you were at my place what would be your choice? Ignore money while choosing.