ProjectorCentral.com
WORLD'S LARGEST
PROJECTOR RESOURCE
Celebrating 20 Years
Top 10 Find a Projector Reviews Throw CalculatorCalc Buyer's Guide Expert Blogs Projector Forums
Share:

BenQ W7000
1080p DLP 3D Home Theater Projector

Review Contents
Best Home Theater Projector
Performance
4.5
Features
Ease of Use
Value
Intended Use:
DIY Home Theater
BenQ W7000 Projector BenQ W7000
(add to Compare List)
Go to My Compare List

Street Price: n/a
3D: Full HD 3D
Contrast:50,000:1
Lumens:2000
Weight: 14.8 lbs
Resolution:1920x1080
Aspect Ratio:16:9
Technology:DLP
Lens:1.5x manual
Lens Shift:H + V
Lamp Life:2,000 Hrs
2,500 (eco)
Lamp Cost:n/a
Warranty:1 year
Connectors:  S-Video, Composite, Component, VGA In, HDMI 1.4 (x2), USB, RS232, 12-Volt Trigger
Video Formats:  480p, 720p, 1080i, 1080p/60, 1080p/24, 1080p/30, 1080p/50

BenQ has been turning out home theater projectors for years now, but to this point they have not released a full HD 3D projector. Enter the BenQ W7000. The W7000 brings to the table 2,000 lumens of maximum brightness, a 50,000:1 contrast ratio, a small form factor (compared to other full HD 3D projectors in its price range), vertical and horizontal lens shift (unusual for a DLP projector, even today) and a 1.5:1 zoom lens.

The W7000 has its quirks, and it's not right for everyone -- no projector is. But if you understand the advantages and limitations, the W7000 can be a great projector for a home theater, living room, or game room, and at $2499 it won't break the bank, either.

The Viewing Experience

First of all, let us note that our review sample uses BenQ's 1.00-3 firmware, which is not the version that has been floating around for a few months now. We checked with BenQ, and the firmware on our projector is the most current version available.

We set up the W7000 on a rear shelf in our darkened theater, ran the requisite wires, and started it up. After a moment of confusion, wherein we discovered that HDMI 2 was on the left and HDMI 1 was on the right, we were able to get a movie up and running.

In terms of the overall character of the image, the W7000 is very similar to the older W6000, BenQ's last high contrast 1080p projector released in 2009. The W6000 stood out for its high dynamic range and sharp, detail-rich image, and the W7000 shows every sign of continuing that tradition. The image, even at defaults, shows plenty of three-dimensionality. Once we got the image calibrated to our liking, color balance is almost perfect, while the impressive sharpness and dynamic range make the picture pop from the screen.

On the other hand, black level is also quite similar to the W6000, so it's unlikely to hold up to today's ultra-high-contrast projectors in this regard. We'll see more about this in the comparison section. The W7000 has an automatic iris, but we did notice that it makes a squeaking, whining sort of noise whenever it goes from a bright scene to a dark one or vice versa.

Just poking around the default settings, the W7000 does not have too many presets, but the ones that are there aren't bad at all. The Cinema preset at Normal color temperature came in around 6100K on our test sample, which is watchable if not ideal. There's a full color management system for gamut adjustments and a separate system for grayscale tracking, but no way to adjust gamma independent of the preset modes. The gamma presets are not bad, but none of them is a perfect 2.2, either. If you enjoy fine-tuning your projector, the W7000 does a fair job of giving you the tools to do so.

Next Page
Key Features
Review Contents: The Viewing Experience Key Features Performance Limitations
  Shootout vs Epson 5010 Conclusion
Comments (16) Post a Comment
Badas Posted Feb 13, 2012 1:21 PM PST
Sold. This is my next 3D projector. I will use my Cineversum Blackwing 3 for 2D ant this for 3D. Sounds like I might have to turn off that Iris tho.

Ta Dono :)
john low Posted Mar 20, 2012 9:43 PM PST
I'm a home theater projector user,present unit is vivitek h5085 1080p,what I'm surprise is Ben Q projectors all along are main for business function or lecturers use.I will consider or may be compare the differences of 3D and non-3D.Especially the 'Price'.
jojo Posted Apr 19, 2012 12:22 PM PST
In the article below (31 january 2012) there is talk about a input lag of 30 ms. In the review (13 february) you talk about 50 ms. Can you please tell me which number is correct please?

http://www.projectorcentral.com/projector_news.cfm?2012-01-31-Gaming-tests-and-upcoming-reviews&entry_id=487
Bill Livolsi Posted Apr 19, 2012 6:59 PM PST
Jojo,

Both are correct, but you made a slight error in your reading.

In the article you linked, I reference 3.0 frames, not 30ms. 3.0 frames, at 16.67 ms per frame, is 50.01 ms.
JoJo Posted Apr 20, 2012 1:43 AM PST
Thanks for your explanation Bill, my mistake. Now i will be having second thoughts about the Benq, because i wanna use it for gaming also. Hmmm difficult choice to make.
ayprof Posted Apr 22, 2012 11:03 AM PST
pls do i need 3D glasses with BenQ W7000 projector
jJohn Posted May 10, 2012 5:15 AM PST
Dos anyone know if the Epson 5010's sharpnes can be improved via its "super-resolution" feature? I am considering either the BenQ W7000 or the Epson (I own the Epson 1080UB and it was/is a GREAT projo). I really love a detail rich, very sharp image...but also want great blacks and contrast. (My only complaint about my 1080UB is that I wish it was more sharp and detailed, not as "film-like" in its smoothness). I know the BenQ W7000 is sharper and more detailed, but lacks the black-level of the Epson...so, can the visible sharpness and detail of the 5010 be IMPROVED via its 'super-resolution' feature?
scubasteve Posted May 23, 2012 10:52 PM PST
Had my W7000 projector about 4 months now. Yesterday, out of the blue, it would drastically dim for a few seconds or even go all to black. Only 400 odd hours on the lamp. Switched from Normal to Econ mode and it worked for a while but now the sudden dimming is starting to occur again. Anyone else experianced this or heard of it happening?
Humberto Martinez Posted May 31, 2012 7:13 AM PST
I agree with Mr. Livolsi's review of the BenQ W7000. I have owned one since January of 2012. I am very happy with the the 2D and 3D image quality. My only complaint is that it takes almost a minute to switch between 2D and 3D mode. This is annoying if the Blu-ray disc was authored poorly and there are 2D segments before the main feature which causes the projector to switch back and forth between 2D and 3D. There will be some black screen time between switches.Fortunately, as 3D blu-rays are becoming more propular, with imroved authoring, this now rarely happens. Regarding the 3D DLP-link glasses, I hated the Ben Q glasses, which I returned. They were just too heavy. I bought several ULTRACLEAR glasses at a great price that work great and do not loose synchronization. Amazon carries them for about $60, or you can get a better deal from the manufacturer directly if you by them in bulk.
gary boyce Posted Sep 4, 2012 3:47 PM PST
let's cut right to the chase-is the epson5010 worth the extra $600 compared to the benq7000 in a moderately controlled light envirament?
DeeWayne Posted Jan 10, 2013 2:20 PM PST
I am actaully glad to see your post. Mine does this ALL THE TIME!! I had contacted Benq and of course they blamed my cable, or source, or anything but the projector. I have replace EVERYTHING and it is still doing it. I finally got them to take it in for the firmware upgrade. I hope it fixes it
Dave Posted Mar 20, 2013 4:11 PM PST
mine is doing the same thing as scubasteve mentioned. . . . Dimming and turning off. Mine is only a month old. Not sure what's up there.
Victor Leonard Posted Apr 7, 2013 1:05 PM PST
Can anyone tell me if the Oppo BDP-103 3D player will stretch the 16x9 lens on the Benq W7000 to 2.35:1 if you have a 2.35:1 screen and are watching a 3D movie filmed in the 2.35:1 mode? Currently i get black bars on the side and want to eliminate this. Thanks!
Jacob John Posted Jun 5, 2013 1:12 AM PST
I am looking at setting up my Home theatre and am considering the BenQ W7000. The room size is 17.5 ft x 14.5 ft. I plan to ceiling mount the projector at the back of the room and so approx throw distance would be around 15.5 ft. This is a dedicated media room but has windows and hence the ambient light - I possibly would use dark curtains. I was planning to go with a 140" diagonal screen. Now in your review you mention that this projector is good enough even for a 140" screen for 2D, but for 3D you mention a 100" diagonal screen. I want to know if a 140" screen will be good for both 2D and 3D movies viewing and also given my room size will I be able to get a 140" image.
Ken Fink Posted Aug 23, 2013 3:24 PM PST
BenQ makes decent projectors and we have been happy with our BenQ with the exception of the reliability. From other comments, it looks like we are not the only ones. We have a W5000 that is just over 4 years old. System board has been replaced once already and has failed again. BenQ quoted us $200 to repair it, but then alerted us that it cannot be fixed. It appears that there was a manufacturing defect that caused an unusual number of failures and there are no more parts available. So now I have a $3,000 projector that is useless, with no program in place to do the right thing for existing customers. Based on history of customer service, if you purchase a BenQ, consider it a disposable asset after the 1 year warranty is over. If you have the financial assets to consider it a disposable asset, you should be happy with the unit.
Jeffy Posted Jul 30, 2014 8:50 AM PST
If you compare the W6000 - W7500 models with the old W5000 the things may look ok.

But compared to the 8 Year old W9000 - W20000 the new projectors are inferior in any aspect.

I agree that quality of any Benq projector is really bad.

Post a comment

Commenting on this article is easy and does not require any registration. Your email address is necessary for you to activate your comment once it has been submitted. It will not be shown to other site viewers. ProjectorCentral reserves the right to remove any comment at any time for any reason. Foul language is not permitted, nor are personal attacks. No HTML allowed. All comments should remain on topic.

Name:

Email Address:(used only to confirm your comment)

Your Comment:

(Enter the numbers as they appear to the left)