ProjectorCentral.com
WORLD'S LARGEST
PROJECTOR RESOURCE
Celebrating 20 Years
Top 10 Find a Projector Reviews Throw CalculatorCalc Buyer's Guide Expert Blogs Projector Forums
Share:
Review Contents
Performance
4
Features
Ease of Use
Value
Intended Use:
Mobile Presentation
Dell M110 Projector Dell M110
(add to Compare List)
Go to My Compare List

10000:1 Contrast Ratio
300 Lumens
Street Price: n/a

The Dell M110 Portable LED Projector

Jeff Janas, February 8, 2012

Key Features:

Form Factor: This projector truly is "Ultra-Portable." It is nearly pico sized, but since it has no battery, it does require a laptop style power supply. Its case is almost a perfect 4" square and is 1.5 inches thick. The 12.75 ounce projector weight is light enough to make it effortless to move around, but provides enough heft to impart a feel of quality. The essential 11.25 ounce power supply almost doubles the weight of the projector, but the 1.5 pound projector and power supply weight is still very light compared to small notebook computers and is comparable to the weight of an average 10" tablet computer. We must still note that there are several projectors on the market with a much higher lumen output and an onboard power supply that still manage to stay under the three pound mark so a user is not giving up the lumens to save on weight. The sacrifice of lumens must be for the projector's other attributes.

Image quality: The Dell M110 throws an impressive picture that under the right viewing conditions can surpass the quality of much larger and less portable projectors. In a dark room, the contrast ratio provides great image depth.

A distinct negative to the image performance is color saturation. Primary colors are noticeably over saturated, with green being the most distracting. Each picture mode is affected. The sRGB image mode performs the best (but is still not great) and the Bright image mode has the most aggressive colors. NFL football games were an experience in neon green grass and shades of orange that looked nearly red. Unfortunately, the M110 does not include even a simple Color control, so no adjustment is possible.

While this projector is not a great candidate for dedicated home theater use, the rationale behind Dell's decision to go with an aggressive color palette reveals itself in the office environment. We used temporary DIY screens in two different situations - the 11x17 piece of paper at my desk and a large 36 inch piece of plotter paper. In both situations, under full room lighting and displaying spreadsheets and PowerPoint graphics, the aggressive color balance was not distracting or even very noticeable. The M110's extreme portability and business focus will likely be the impetus for many presentations in non-dedicated environments; I think the overall image quality is impressive for this projector's intended use.

Traditional Video Inputs: The M110 includes a full sized HDMI input, has VGA computer connectivity through the provided breakout cable and a Composite video input via a 3.5 mm adapter cable. Most of our viewing was done via HDMI and we found no issues with the performance. We used a direct HDMI connection from a laptop, a DVI to HDMI cable from a desktop computer, and the HDMI output from an Android cell phone, all with favorable results.

USB Inputs: The projector features a full sized USB type-A input that supports USB Display functionality, access to the internal memory or playback of video, audio or photos via a flash drive. The USB port also supports the optional wireless adapter.Connecting the projector to a computer via USB brings up a menu that allows a choice between Mass Storage Mode for access to the 1GB of internal memory or activation of the USB display mode. The USB connection functioned well for office work, but we noted jitter and lip-sync issues when playing video.

Brightness: Peak brightness of 250 lumens was found with the Bright image preset and Normal lamp mode. Dell specs this projector at 300 lumens. Switching to Eco lamp mode reduces brightness by 15% to 207 lumens. The more color balanced sRGB mode produced 207 lumens. Brightness uniformity was a somewhat low 72%, but was visually consistent across the entire screen.

Keystone: The Dell M110 includes a manual keystone adjustment feature that supports up to a 40 degree incline or decline. Keystone performance was excellent even at extreme levels.

Rainbows: We did not experience any rainbow effect with the Dell M110 via normal viewing or direct testing

Previous Page
Overview
Next Page
Limitations and Summary
Review Contents: Overview Features Limitations and Summary
Comments (17) Post a Comment
A.K.A 1st Posted Feb 19, 2012 5:56 PM PST
Thanks for your Review, What about the 10,000:1 contrast, is really true?
Zeffito Posted Feb 26, 2012 12:21 PM PST
thanks for the review,

I wonder if the wireless dongle on with lag when you're watching a movie, listening to music. In the case that you mentioned in the review was about the input lag of commands from the computer and not on automatic lag in presentations such as movies, videos and music.

I wish that if possible, I clarify this point.

grateful and await responses.
Ibe Posted Jul 1, 2012 9:17 PM PST
Purchased this little projector and happy with my the output this provides. It's a steal if portability is the main need. Smaller than I expected it to be aswell and it sits nicely on my tower PC to throw against the far wall when needed.

One con if anything that was mentioned in the review was the pinpoint focus. If you focus from a distance (say 6 ft) in the centre, the edges are softer. This started to hurt my eyes after a while, as I was looking about a large projected screen of my desktop and see soften text. It requires me to focus my eyes a little too often.
Custodio Posted Sep 14, 2012 8:00 AM PST
I have a projector model M110. I would like to turn the projector model M110 and adapt it on the ceiling of the room. Is it possible to do? How do I adjust the screen image?

In advance, thank you very much, Custodio
homer lee Posted Oct 18, 2012 5:09 PM PST
have you tried it with a samsung galaxy note 10.1? if yes, what cable did you use?
Arvind singh Posted Oct 21, 2012 7:32 PM PST
Wow!Dell 110M is indeed a nice projector even for home cinema.I use to watch movies on a big screen of 120 inches diagonal.sometimes i run the projector for more than six hrs continuosly and it works smart.what i like most is its picture quality on a 16:9 screen.
Ravi Posted Jan 9, 2013 9:27 AM PST
This is a real portable power packed projector. I purchased this projector and was quite impressed with the projection and brightness. However, there are couple of things I noticed - Focus is not uniformly pinpoint. This means that when I focused left top, text on bottom right got blurred. This may not be visible in movies, however,this type of focus is not good for reading purpose since it started hurting my eyes after few minutes. Other thing I noticed was that when I play movie which has little dark background, I see clouding/little graphic boxes moving with the image in the Projected image. Having said this, this may not be completely due to projector since i see these small graphics in my laptop as well. But Projection makes them large and visible. Sometimes it is not a very good experience to see them spoiling the image quality while watching movies. I have read some other reviews as well where focus was reported as issue. If Dell resolves these issues, I would Strongly recommend this Projector over any projector in this segment. Biggest positives of this projector - Full of features as compared to size, very portable - no other projector can beat this one, 300 Lumens may not sound much however in realty it is very bright for LED projectors. I returned this projector for the above two reasons. I chose other which has little less lumens than this, but is not having two issues i mentioned.
Mike Shaffer Posted Feb 11, 2013 3:59 PM PST
Has anyone been able to connect this to a Wii?
murrdude Posted Feb 24, 2013 11:39 AM PST
I tried pluggin in my Android Nexus phone to the Dell M110 with the HDMI cable, but the Dell does not recognize the phone. Is there a process or an app that I am missing?
Ricky Posted Mar 1, 2013 11:35 AM PST
Planning to buy the DELL M110. Please suggest if it's a right choice. I would only see movies and only movies. I have a complete setup at home. Please suggest.
Athulan Posted May 17, 2013 7:18 PM PST
Can this projector be ceiling mounted?
vijay Posted Aug 5, 2013 8:54 PM PST
dell m110 is great, but I was unable to connect my audio. sys.while watching with pendrive. without audio output the movie was 0 effective. please guide me how to connect my home theatre speakers.
Aragon Posted Aug 24, 2013 5:44 AM PST
Hey Jeff, would love to see your review of Optoma's new ML550 relative to the Dell M110. On paper they look almost identical apart from Optoma's lower noise spec. I'm curious about software/interface differences.
Guillermo Gonzalez M Posted Nov 3, 2013 4:12 PM PST
Adquirí un proyector dell modelo 110, pero al conectarlo al computador con el cable HDMI el audio es local y muy bajo, como hago para lograr un mejor sonido, o lograr una salida para conectar unos parlantes externos desde el proyector o desde el computador ???
sundeep Posted Jan 4, 2014 7:21 AM PST
Can some let me know whether this Dell M110 projector supports 3D Ready Movies?
festus Posted Aug 4, 2014 12:51 PM PST
I have a distance of 20' from the screen. Which led projector is good for me?
Raydan Led Proyectores Posted Mar 9, 2018 10:20 AM PST
Very Good Product. this compact size mini proyector is powerfull of contrast color and lumens. Dell did a good job in this model... Very good Dell

Post a comment

Commenting on this article is easy and does not require any registration. Your email address is necessary for you to activate your comment once it has been submitted. It will not be shown to other site viewers. ProjectorCentral reserves the right to remove any comment at any time for any reason. Foul language is not permitted, nor are personal attacks. No HTML allowed. All comments should remain on topic.

Name:

Email Address:(used only to confirm your comment)

Your Comment:

(Enter the numbers as they appear to the left)