ProjectorCentral.com
WORLD'S LARGEST
PROJECTOR RESOURCE
Celebrating 20 Years
Top 10 Find a Projector Reviews Throw CalculatorCalc Buyer's Guide Expert Blogs Projector Forums
Share:

The Dell M110 Portable LED Projector

Review Contents
Performance
4
Features
Ease of Use
Value
Intended Use:
Mobile Presentation
Dell M110 Projector Dell M110
(add to Compare List)
Go to My Compare List

10000:1 Contrast Ratio
300 Lumens
Street Price: n/a

Limitations

Fan Noise: Fan noise is noticeable in both Normal and ECO lamp modes. Dell specs Normal mode as 36 dB(A) and ECO as 32 dB(A). We found the noise distracting in Normal mode while sitting within close proximity to the projector. In a conference room scenario when the projector is placed on a table and only an arm's distance away from some of the attendees, this might be a consideration. While the fan noise was still audible in ECO mode, it was much less obvious.

Lens Quality: Although the M110 is capable of acceptable focus and sharpness, the overall performance was wanting. We were not able to achieve a pinpoint focus across the entire projected image. If the image center was used to dial in focus, corner edges (primarily on the top corners) were soft. This would be a consideration for a business user projecting detailed text or financial data.

With graphical presentation type material, image sharpness was satisfactory. However photos or videos were missing the sharp, crisp image often associated with DLP projectors.

Wi-Fi Adapter: The performance of the optional Wi-Fi adapter was disappointing. After plugging in the adapter to the USB port on the projector, a menu launches that provides connection instructions. The software installation was straightforward, but it took several attempts to get display mirroring to start even with a solid Wi-Fi connection to the projector.

The Wi-Fi enabled projector functions as a direct access point. Consequently, no other wireless connection is possible. The laptop remained connected to the internet via a hard wired connection, but it would have been preferable for the projector to connect to an existing wireless network versus having to rely on a second physical connection to maintain network access. The Wi-Fi connection is open without any security options. Once connected, the pure static image quality via display mirroring was perfect, like any digital connection should be. Unfortunately, the connection suffered enough lag to make it essentially unusable.

Initially, mouse movement occurred in near real time between the computer and projector. However, after less than a minute of connection time, the lag grew to a consistent and repeatable 15-20 seconds. The only remedy was to stop and restart the display mirroring application. A few seconds of lag may be acceptable for most business presentations, but this amount of lag was excessive and would eliminate the Wi-Fi connection as a viable input option in a business presentation scenario.

Conclusion:

The Dell M110 projector story is that for the right user it offers a great price and thousands of hours of use without ever having to change a lamp. If ambient light and a bit of fan noise are not issues, you'll get an economical projector with a wide array of inputs. The 250 lumens of brightness allows it to become a very large desktop monitor in a fully lit room, create a theater sized screen in a dark room or play the part of the average conference room projector as long room lighting can be adjusted.

If you dim the lights, expect to be treated to impressive dynamics from an above average contrast ratio. It does not quite exemplify projector perfection, but the trade-offs are acceptable. For a street price of $500, Dell has produced a quality projector with no lamp replacement costs. The size, performance and features of the Dell M110 make it a great fit for many mobile business users.

Previous Page
Features
Review Contents: Overview Features Limitations and Summary
Comments (17) Post a Comment
A.K.A 1st Posted Feb 19, 2012 5:56 PM PST
Thanks for your Review, What about the 10,000:1 contrast, is really true?
Zeffito Posted Feb 26, 2012 12:21 PM PST
thanks for the review,

I wonder if the wireless dongle on with lag when you're watching a movie, listening to music. In the case that you mentioned in the review was about the input lag of commands from the computer and not on automatic lag in presentations such as movies, videos and music.

I wish that if possible, I clarify this point.

grateful and await responses.
Ibe Posted Jul 1, 2012 9:17 PM PST
Purchased this little projector and happy with my the output this provides. It's a steal if portability is the main need. Smaller than I expected it to be aswell and it sits nicely on my tower PC to throw against the far wall when needed.

One con if anything that was mentioned in the review was the pinpoint focus. If you focus from a distance (say 6 ft) in the centre, the edges are softer. This started to hurt my eyes after a while, as I was looking about a large projected screen of my desktop and see soften text. It requires me to focus my eyes a little too often.
Custodio Posted Sep 14, 2012 8:00 AM PST
I have a projector model M110. I would like to turn the projector model M110 and adapt it on the ceiling of the room. Is it possible to do? How do I adjust the screen image?

In advance, thank you very much, Custodio
homer lee Posted Oct 18, 2012 5:09 PM PST
have you tried it with a samsung galaxy note 10.1? if yes, what cable did you use?
Arvind singh Posted Oct 21, 2012 7:32 PM PST
Wow!Dell 110M is indeed a nice projector even for home cinema.I use to watch movies on a big screen of 120 inches diagonal.sometimes i run the projector for more than six hrs continuosly and it works smart.what i like most is its picture quality on a 16:9 screen.
Ravi Posted Jan 9, 2013 9:27 AM PST
This is a real portable power packed projector. I purchased this projector and was quite impressed with the projection and brightness. However, there are couple of things I noticed - Focus is not uniformly pinpoint. This means that when I focused left top, text on bottom right got blurred. This may not be visible in movies, however,this type of focus is not good for reading purpose since it started hurting my eyes after few minutes. Other thing I noticed was that when I play movie which has little dark background, I see clouding/little graphic boxes moving with the image in the Projected image. Having said this, this may not be completely due to projector since i see these small graphics in my laptop as well. But Projection makes them large and visible. Sometimes it is not a very good experience to see them spoiling the image quality while watching movies. I have read some other reviews as well where focus was reported as issue. If Dell resolves these issues, I would Strongly recommend this Projector over any projector in this segment. Biggest positives of this projector - Full of features as compared to size, very portable - no other projector can beat this one, 300 Lumens may not sound much however in realty it is very bright for LED projectors. I returned this projector for the above two reasons. I chose other which has little less lumens than this, but is not having two issues i mentioned.
Mike Shaffer Posted Feb 11, 2013 3:59 PM PST
Has anyone been able to connect this to a Wii?
murrdude Posted Feb 24, 2013 11:39 AM PST
I tried pluggin in my Android Nexus phone to the Dell M110 with the HDMI cable, but the Dell does not recognize the phone. Is there a process or an app that I am missing?
Ricky Posted Mar 1, 2013 11:35 AM PST
Planning to buy the DELL M110. Please suggest if it's a right choice. I would only see movies and only movies. I have a complete setup at home. Please suggest.
Athulan Posted May 17, 2013 7:18 PM PST
Can this projector be ceiling mounted?
vijay Posted Aug 5, 2013 8:54 PM PST
dell m110 is great, but I was unable to connect my audio. sys.while watching with pendrive. without audio output the movie was 0 effective. please guide me how to connect my home theatre speakers.
Aragon Posted Aug 24, 2013 5:44 AM PST
Hey Jeff, would love to see your review of Optoma's new ML550 relative to the Dell M110. On paper they look almost identical apart from Optoma's lower noise spec. I'm curious about software/interface differences.
Guillermo Gonzalez M Posted Nov 3, 2013 4:12 PM PST
Adquirí un proyector dell modelo 110, pero al conectarlo al computador con el cable HDMI el audio es local y muy bajo, como hago para lograr un mejor sonido, o lograr una salida para conectar unos parlantes externos desde el proyector o desde el computador ???
sundeep Posted Jan 4, 2014 7:21 AM PST
Can some let me know whether this Dell M110 projector supports 3D Ready Movies?
festus Posted Aug 4, 2014 12:51 PM PST
I have a distance of 20' from the screen. Which led projector is good for me?
Raydan Led Proyectores Posted Mar 9, 2018 10:20 AM PST
Very Good Product. this compact size mini proyector is powerfull of contrast color and lumens. Dell did a good job in this model... Very good Dell

Post a comment

Commenting on this article is easy and does not require any registration. Your email address is necessary for you to activate your comment once it has been submitted. It will not be shown to other site viewers. ProjectorCentral reserves the right to remove any comment at any time for any reason. Foul language is not permitted, nor are personal attacks. No HTML allowed. All comments should remain on topic.

Name:

Email Address:(used only to confirm your comment)

Your Comment:

(Enter the numbers as they appear to the left)