Epson Home Cinema 4010 3LCD Projector
Projector Central Editor's Choice Award

Editor's Choice Award

Our Editor's Choice award goes to products that dramatically exceed expectations for performance, value, or cutting-edge design.

  • Performance
  • 5
  • Features
  • Ease of Use
  • Value

The Epson Home Cinema 4010 is the latest in Epson's line of 4K-compliant projectors that rely on pixel-shifting technology with native 1080p LCD imagers to deliver "4K Enhanced" resolution. Over time, Epson has progressively closed any visible gap between its pixel-shifted 1080p and other manufacturer's 4K-resolution projectors, and the 4010 is significant in its introduction of 4K PRO-UHD, a group of advancements that includes a new algorithm said to deliver on-screen results that equal or even exceed projectors rated at 4K (some of which also rely on pixel-shifting). We can't argue with this claim, as the resolution and detail observed from the 4010, aided by its 15-element glass lens, is tremendously sharp and dimensional, and suffers no observable smearing or other artifacts to call attention to the pixel-shifting or suggest the projector isn't full 4K.

The 4010 offers some key improvements from its predecessor, the Epson Home Cinema 4000. It is rated at 2,400 lumens for both white and color brightness versus the 4000's 2,200 lumens. The 4010's dynamic contrast has also been bumped to 200,000:1 vs. the 4000's rated 140,000:1—still well short of the claim of 1,000,000:1 in the Epson Home Cinema 5040UB step-up model, but enough for a noticeable improvement in black level and shadow detail with dark content. Beyond this, Epson says it has worked on its tone-mapping algorithm for improved rendering of HDR content (with processing for up to 10-bit color depth). Other key benefits from the 4000 are carried over, including the aforementioned lens, a dynamic iris to boost contrast and deepen blacks on dark scenes, support for 1080p 3D Blu-rays; a Digital Cinema mode that delivers 100% of the expanded DCI-P3 color space; a 2.1x zoom with motorized focus, zoom, and lens shift; and up to 10 lens memory positions.

 

Furthermore, the Home Cinema 4010's $1,999 list price comes in $200 less than the original introductory price on the HC4000, and its $1,799 street price (as of late October 2018) brings the 4010 closer to less-featured, full-4K budget projectors using the latest DLP imaging chips. This gives buyers a more clearly defined choice between full-4K resolution and a 1080p pixel-shifter offering more traditional premium features not often found under $1800, including robust build quality on a heavier and more substantial chassis than its competitors; a high-quality, wide-zoom, motorized lens with lens memory; and a dynamic iris.

Readers should note that the Epson Pro Cinema 4050, introduced just prior to the 4010, is the same projector housed in a black case instead of white, packaged for the commercial integrator market with a mount, extra lamp, and more generous warranty. All findings in this review apply equally to that model.

Epson Home Cinema 4010 4K Enhanced Projector

Epson Home Cinema 4010 Features/Advantages

  • 3LCD design free from rainbow artifacts

  • 1920 x 1080p imaging chips with improved 4K PRO-UHD pixel-shifting for input signals up to 4096 x 2160

  • High quality 15-element glass lens designed for even light throughput and elimination of chromatic aberrations

  • Up to 10 saved lens memory positions for Constant Height Image (CIH) installations on a CinemaScope 2.4:1 screen without need for an anamorphic lens.

  • 2,400 lumens white brightness; 2,400 lumens color brightness

  • 200,000:1 rated contrast ratio with auto-iris to optimize dark scenes

  • HDR10 high dynamic range playback

  • Wide color gamut support to 100% of DCI-P3 color space

  • Up to 12-bit color depth for standard dynamic range content; 10-bit for HDR

  • 2.1x motorized zoom with long +/-96% vertical and +/-47% horizontal lens shift

  • Support for 1080p 3D

  • Optional WiFi dongle

  • USB power port for fiber optic HDMI cable

  • Lamp rated for 3,500-5,000 hours max

  • 2-year limited warranty

Epson Home Cinema 4010 Limitations

  • No support for 4K/60 Hz HDR. HDMI version 1.4 ports with 10.2 Gbps bandwidth (one with 4K-compliant HDCP 2.2 copyright management) limit the projector's playback to a maximum of 4K/24 Hz signals with 10-bit, 4:2:2 color processing for HDR, or 4K/60 Hz with up to 12-bit, 4:4:4 color processing for SDR.

  • Measured input lag of 28.4 ms may be inadequate for some gamers.

  • Frame Interpolation motion enhancement only available for 1080p/24 signals.

Epson Home Cinema 4010 Picture Quality

Color Balance. Among the color modes, Dynamic has the obvious green tint common among projectors in their brightest setting, and B&W Cinema leans noticeably warm to affect a dated look with black & white content. All of the other modes on default settings measured acceptably (if surprisingly) close to the industry standard D65 color temperature for white balance, tracked reasonably well across the grayscale, and had RBG color points well within range. There are RGB gain and bias adjustments for grayscale and a color management system for RGBCMY color points for those with instrumentation who wish to tweak further.

Natural mode was alone in providing a dead-on D65 white point and its associated neutral-gray tone, but it was uncomfortably bright for a dark-room setup with a 100' diagonal, 1.3-gain screen. The Cinema and Digital Cinema modes were the least bright and showed a very slightly red bias that's not uncommon with movie modes, but one click up on the Color Temperature setting (to 6 from the default 5) pushed these to a more neutral/slightly cool tone. Either the Natural or Bright Cinema modes should serve well for moderately high ambient light environments.

Digital Cinema is the only setting that enables full DCI-P3 wide color gamut and proved suitable for both standard dynamic range 1080p as well as UHD Blu-rays that make use of the wider gamut and HDR. Reference clips of outdoor settings with grass, sky, and foliage looked stunningly natural, and the projector easily delineated different skin tones with no hint of red oversaturation. The Skin Tone adjustment, which tunes the default more toward either green or red, was never needed.

The 4010 processes 4K/SDR content with up to 12-bit color depth and 4K/HDR content with up to 10-bit depth. Banding artifacts were almost wholly absent from a 10-foot viewing distance for the duration of our audition. The only exceptions were a few difficult scenes, such as earth/space transitions seen in sci-fi movies and the animated Planet Earth opening trailer, and only when the projector was presented with 8-bit signals from a Blu-ray player. Even then, the banding was subtle and might not have captured attention without the viewer looking for it.

Epson Home Cinema 4010 4K Enhanced Projector

Detail/4K Enhancement. Epson's 4K PRO-UHD pixel-shifting vastly sharpened 1080p content to where turning it off imparted obvious softness to the image. With pixel-shifting turned on, there are five graduated Image Enhancement settings, with Preset 2 as the default. On most movie content, the high settings Preset 5 and Preset 4 noticeably increased detail and improved the contrast and three-dimensionality of objects without creating any obviously artificial ringing artifacts, though already-sharp video-based material or movies with coarse film grain required a lower setting to avoid looking pasty and unnatural. With native 4K/UHD content, the differences between the lower and higher settings was less obvious, but the maximum Preset 5 setting typically delivered best results. Details in extreme tight close-ups—Scarlett Johansson's eye lashes and skin wrinkles in Lucy or Tom Cruise's stubble and skin pores in Oblivion—were absolutely razor sharp and free of artifacts.

Contrast/Black Level. There are three settings for the auto iris including Off, Normal, and Fast. The Fast setting occasionally engendered visible light pumping on severe scene transitions or during rapidly edited sequences as the projector's logic struggled to settle on an appropriate aperture. These issues disappeared with the same content on the Normal setting.

The value of the iris was clearly visible on challenging, dark scenes with low overall average picture level punctuated by brighter highlights. There was a modest but noticeable improvement in deep black level and the rendering of shadow detail that naturally put the highlights into greater focus and relief against the darkness. The same scenes without the iris appeared more washed out and dull in A/B comparisons.

Though the 4000's overall contrast and black level is highly satisfying and never takes the viewer out of the scene with apparent deficiencies, direct comparisons with the Epson Home Cinema 5040UB step-up model, with rated contrast five times higher than the 4010's, did reveal the limit of its black floor. Still, it fared surprisingly well against a projector that carries a $500 premium. Our shoot-out report will be issued separately.

HDR. The 4010 recognizes only HDR10 high dynamic range content, the most common form and the one found on all UHD Blu-ray discs—there is no support for the emerging HLG standard expected to take hold for streaming and broadcast, though this remains a rare feature among projectors. The four HDR Modes each progressively darken the image. While in any given color mode, the projector can be set so that it automatically selects its brightest HDR Mode 1 (use the Auto Bright option), or HDR Mode 2 (Auto), when it sees an HDR flag in 4K content. This allows seamless switching between 1080p SDR and UHD HDR content, but not dedicated image settings for each type. However, the projector's 10 user memories (separate from its lens position memories) do allow storage and recall of separate settings within the same color mode and the ability to name them (SDR and HDR, for example). You can also save different calibrations in separate color modes for SDR and HDR, and recall them either with the remote's Memory or Color Mode buttons.

While using the Digital Cinema color mode, HDR Mode 1 was preferred for most viewing. It delivered the most dramatic/punchy highlights at minimal sacrifice of the black floor, though it sometimes clipped intense highlights (such as a setting sun) resulting in some loss of surrounding detail compared with the other HDR modes. This was a reasonable sacrifice for more brightness. For HDR viewing, Epson recommends the full-on Preset 5 for Image Enhancement and bumping color saturation to 55 from its default 50, which worked well for most content. Note that it's also possible to select any HDR mode while playing 1080p SDR programs, but with washed out, undesirable results.

The HDR experience on front projectors varies program to program based on uneven mastering practices among UHD movies, and is most effective in the dark. It doesn't jump out quite the same way as HDR on a flatpanel TV. Still, with HDR showcase titles viewed on the 4010 (Avengers: Infinity War, Ready Player One, Mission Impossible 3: Ghost Protocol, Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2, Oblivion), there was obvious extra brightness to fire, suns, spotlights, and other bright highlights against dark backgrounds that made them more visceral compared with the same content in 1080p SDR. Colors were also more saturated generally, and reds in particular more natural with some discs as a result of the wide color gamut. As usual, some individual tweaking of contrast, brightness, and color saturation may be required for the best image with each HDR program.

Motion Processing. Frame Interpolation is available only for 1080p/24 input signals, either with or without 4K Enhancement. Unfortunately, this means there is no motion processing for sports coming off a set-top box that outputs video at 60 Hz (where it might be most helpful), and it limits this feature primarily to movie content, where many viewers will choose to keep it turned off anyway to avoid imparting the so-called soap opera video effect. Nonetheless, on its Normal and High settings Frame Interpolation effectively reduced or fully removed judder from camera pans and improved resolution on moving objects. The Low setting imparted only modest video effect, but was less effective at smoothing motion and could introduce additional choppiness to the judder of some pans, making them more obvious.

3D Video. The HC 4010 automatically recognizes 3D signals and defaults to either 3D Cinema or 3D Dynamic, whichever was last used. 3D Dynamic, with its lamp power bumped from the default Mid to High and with tweaks to contrast and brightness, provided the most satisfyingly bright 3D experience on a 100", 1.3 gain screen.

Epson Home Cinema 4010 Performance

Brightness. In Dynamic color mode, with the zoom at its widest setting, contrast at its maximum, and the default lamp power mode High, the 4010 measured 2621 lumens, about 10% greater than its rated brightness. Selecting the Medium power setting reduces brightness across all modes by approximately 20%, and selecting the ECO setting reduces power by approximately 35%.

Lumen measurements for every color mode were taken with the lamp power mode set to High. However, the factory default settings for lamp power vary from one color mode to the next. Bright Cinema and Digital Cinema for example, are set to Medium power by default, and Cinema to ECO. You therefore have the option of adjusting light output up or down for some color profiles by altering the Power setting.

Epson Home Cinema 4010 4K Enhanced Projector

Epson Home Cinema 4010 ANSI Lumens

MODE High Medium ECO
Dynamic 2621 2088 1703
Bright Cinema 1704 1356 1108
Natural 1787 1422 1162
Cinema 904 723 588
B&W Cinema 1539 1225 1000
Digital Cinema 928 742 603

Video Optimized Lumens. The Digital Cinema mode, with its Color Temp moved to setting 6 from the default 5 (more toward blue) was preferred for dark-room viewing on a 100", 1.3 gain screen. With larger screens, or with moderate ambient light, the Bright Cinema or Natural modes should work sufficiently for most set-ups while retaining good color accuracy.

Presentation Optimized Lumens. The Natural and Bright Cinema modes were both effective for presentation of still graphics and should provide enough output with moderate ambient light without turning to the green-tinted Dynamic mode. The sharpness of letters and numbers was greatly aided by turning up the Image Enhancement to its maximum Preset 5.

Zoom Lens Light Loss. Going from the widest to the full telephoto setting on the 2.1x zoom lens results in a 26% loss of light in any given color mode. But given the long zoom, most setups are not likely to require full telephoto capacity, which would allow placement of the projector as far away as 20.5 feet for a 100-inch image in a dark room.

Brightness Uniformity. With the zoom at either end of its range, brightness uniformity was 80.9%, a solid result. Light measurements revealed that the brightness on the right side of the image dropped off slightly from the left and middle in our sample, but the shift was so small and so gradual as to be impossible to detect with a 100% white test pattern, and totally invisible with real content on the screen.

Lens Focus. The 4010's 15-element glass lens provided exceptional edge-to-edge sharpness, and the powered focus offered precise control of adjustment. The lens is protected when not in use by a motorized dust cover—another nice feature at this $1,799 price point.

Input Lag. Epson says the best response time is achieved with 1080p/60 Hz sources (independent of color mode) and the following settings: Image Processing Fast; Super Resolution, Noise Reduction, Frame Interpolation, and Keystone Correction all Off; and Aspect Ratio Normal. With a 1080p signal, we measured input lag at 28.4 ms with either the Fast or Fine settings for processing. The results were the same whether 4K Enhancement was turned on or off.

Fan Noise. Epson rates fan noise at 31 decibels in High Power setting and 20 dB in ECO. Both the intake and exhaust vents are on the front of the projector. From a 5 foot distance below and in front of the projector (approximately simulating an 8-foot ceiling mount above and somewhat behind the viewer), Mid and ECO fan noise were barely audible in a quiet room and not perceptible over typical soundtracks. The High setting raised the volume and also the pitch, making it harder to mask and obvious in quiet moments. The High Altitude mode, which Epson recommends above 5,000 feet elevation, adds perhaps 2 to 3 dB to any given setting. If it's required along with the High Power mode, consider options for mounting the projector further away from viewers or isolating it.

Lamp Life. The supplied 250w UHE lamp is rated for up to 3,500 hours in High power, 4,000 hours in Mid, and 5,000 hrs in ECO. A replacement lamp costs $300. If you watch a lot of HDR or are running the projector near peak brightness for an ambient light setup, consider earlier replacement.

Epson Home Cinema 4010 Setup

The 4010's 2.1x zoom and broad vertical and horizontal lens shift adjustments (+/- 96% vertical, +/- 47% horizontal) provide exceptional placement flexibility for either a shelf or ceiling mount, and the precision powered adjustments for focus, zoom, and lens shift further simplify setup. These facilities, along with 10 lens position memories (suitable for maintaining a constant height image with 2.4:1 'Scope screens without an anamorphic lens), are unusual perks for an $1,799 budget projector.

For a 120" screen, the zoom allows throw distances between 11'9" and 24'8". For a 100" screen the range is 9'10" to 20'8". Epson specs the range of image size as 50" to 300". You can check the Epson Home Cinema 4010 Projection Calculator for the throw range for your screen size and estimated light output.

Epson Home Cinema 4010 Connections

Connection panel inputs are listed below. Of the two HDMI inputs, both are version HDMI 1.4 with 10.2 Gbps bandwidth, and one has the HDCP 2.2 copyright management required for protected UHD content. The 4010's processing tops out with 4K/60 signals with SDR, 4:4:4 chroma subsampling, and up to 12-bit color depth; or 4K/24 Hz signals with HDR at 4:2:2 at up to 10-bit depth. Additionally, it will accept a 4:2:2 HDR signal with 12-bit depth, but processes it at 10-bit.

The lack of an HDMI 2.0 port with full 18 Gbps bandwidth in a 2018 model-year 4K projector, especially with HDMI 2.1 coming down the pike, is disappointing, even in a budget projector. Practically speaking, though, it will mostly effect gamers intent on using their projector for 4K/60 Hz games encoded with HDR. Movie lovers can enjoy most UHD HDR discs at their native 24 frames per second, though any HDR movie content streamed or delivered on disc at 60 Hz would be restricted to SDR.

Epson Home Cinema 4010 4K Enhanced Projector Connections

  • (2) HDMI 1.4 (one with HDCP 2.2)
  • (1) USB Type A (for optical HDMI cable 300 mA max. power supply only)
  • (1) USB (for wireless and firmware)
  • (1) Mini USB (service only)
  • (1) LAN (RJ-45)
  • (1) Computer/D-sub 15 pin
  • (1) RS-232c (D-sub 9-pin)
  • (1) Trigger out (3.5 mm mini-jack) 12 V DC, 200 mA maximum

Our Take On The Epson Home Cinema 4010

As of late October 2018, the ProjectorCentral database shows 18 4K-compatible projectors ranging from $1,300 to $1,800 (including several redundant models that differ only in color wheel or other modest variations). While the Epson Home Cinema 4010 shares the spot for most expensive, it is among the most flexible and easiest to set up and the most fully featured. To the extent that build quality is any indicator, it is also the largest and heaviest among this group (along with its predecessor Home Cinema 4000). No one taking this 25 pound beast out of the box will fail to acknowledge its solidity. That's part of what you pay for here.

It is also among the best performing in this group, despite its reliance on pixel-shifting of 1080p LCD imagers instead of either native 4K LCOS or DLP chips found in pricier projectors or the DLP devices in this class that use pixel-shifting to achieve full 4K resolution. Epson has, for now, chosen to deliver at this price some traditional higher end projector perks that can have more substantial effect on image quality and the user experience than 4K imagers, all while shrinking any visible difference in the rendering of detail to virtual invisibility with most content. The sharpness of the lens is impressive for an $1,800 projector, while the inclusion of a helpful dynamic iris to boost contrast is rare in this group (if not exclusive to the Epson 4010 and 4000). And extra care has been taken to insure that several preset viewing modes are well-tuned out of the box for critical viewers.

The 4010 won't be for everyone. You can get better contrast and black level from more expensive projectors above $2,000, including the Epson Home Cinema 5040UB, which we plan to face off with the 4010 to gauge the value of the 4010's updated pixel-shifting, contrast, and HDR. The 4010's lack of support for 4K/60 Hz HDR and its 28 ms input lag may limit its appeal with serious gamers. And some buyers intent on high ambient light viewing may also require more brightness, albeit at the likely expense of some black level and contrast performance in dark room conditions.

But for the serious home theater enthusiast who's looking for a 4K-compliant projector to play the best quality UHD HDR movie content out there in dark to moderately lit rooms, it's hard to imagine getting much better than this level of image quality for anywhere near this price. Although several projectors in the under $1,500 bracket may get you in the game for less, what you pay for with the Epson Home Cinema 4010 compared with what you get puts it in another class. It is in many ways a high end projector at a budget price, and its exceptional value rightfully earns it ProjectorCentral's Editor's Choice Award.

For more detailed specifications and connections, check out our Epson Home Cinema 4010 projector page.

To buy this projector, use Where to Buy online, or get a price quote by email direct from Projector Central authorized dealers using our E-Z Quote tool.

The Epson Home Cinema 4010 is also sold outside of the United States of America as the Epson EH-TW7400 and the Epson CH-TW7400. Some specifications may be slightly different. Check with Epson for complete specifications.

Comments (78) Post a Comment
Chris Levery Posted Oct 31, 2018 6:59 AM PST
Can you comment on 4k Sharpness/Black level of this vs. ViewSonic 727 and Optoma UHD 60?
Rob Sabin, editor Posted Oct 31, 2018 7:00 AM PST
Sorry, neither is on hand to directly compare it to and I've not seen either in my studio to have any memory of these. I do have a sample of the Optoma UHD51A on its way to me, which uses the same .47 inch DLP as the UHD60, so I may get some idea from that regarding the sharpness. But I have to say that this Epson leaves little or nothing to be desired in terms of image clarity. Feed it good hi-res content, and it rewards you.
Santez Posted Oct 31, 2018 7:01 AM PST
The UHD60 uses the 0.66" DLP chipset not the .47 inch.
Rob Sabin, editor Posted Oct 31, 2018 7:02 AM PST
Yup, I do stand corrected. I checked it quickly before I posted and misread our review. That difference in the chip could potentially affect contrast as well as possibly detail, so not a perfect comparison by any means.
Suraj Posted Oct 31, 2018 7:55 AM PST
Is this projector good for 160" screen in fully light controlled room for movie watching? The brightness in Cinema and Digital Cinema mode seem to be very low. If Natural Mode is used for movie watching, Do you still get same colors as Cinema mode because i don't think the color filter works in Natural mode. It's only for Cinema and Digital Cinema.
Rob Sabin, editor Posted Oct 31, 2018 7:56 AM PST
Suraj, the filter for DCI-P3 wide gamut color that's desirable for UHD content is only active in the Digital Cinema mode. You can get some additional brightness from the default by turning lamp power to High, though the number I measured was with the lamp already maxed out. The Natural mode or Bright Cinema mode, which also have well tuned color,are noticeably brighter. Still, our projection calculator estimates that at most, using the brightest Dynamic setting, a 160-inch screen will see no more than about 25 foot-Lamberts if you can mount the projector at around 16 feet throw distance, and perhaps as little as 22 ft-L if you can keep it inside of 25 feet. So it'll be somewhat less for the next brightest mode, Natural. There was a time when 20 ft-L on a projection screen would seem like a lot of fire power and it's probably fine for SDR today, but some people today target higher output for peak white on HDR viewing. Keep in mind that screen material can affect the end result; a material with some ambient light rejecting qualities can help overcome the big screen or a long throw distance.
Burt Posted Oct 31, 2018 9:40 AM PST
Thank you for this review. I really appreciate your efforts to get us this information. Looking forward to your comparison to the 5040, and your insight on whether that model will be updated in the near future. Honestly seems like the only flaw here is the HDMI input. Are there any third party converters that could solve that, i.e. allow HDR at 60hz?
Rob Sabin, editor Posted Oct 31, 2018 9:59 AM PST
Burt, the primary compromises here are the lack of 4K/60Hz HDR capability and, more critically, the ultimately very good but still limited contrast compared with more expensive projectors like the 5040UB. The 4010 is quite good for the price in this regard, but it's still a budget projector and Epson saves its best Ultra Black (UB) technology for the step-up models. You can absolutely see it in a side by side comparison -- the 4010 never gets down to that deep inky black you get with some higher end projectors. Still, it's very good at extracting shadow detail out of mixed scenes, and its limitations really become most obvious on very dark scenes. The comparison review should be out by end of this week..

As for an update to the 5040...I have no direct info, but I think we can surmise that Epson will take the improvements they've made in the 4010 and apply them to a successor to the 5040. I'm sure we'll get some news on that going forward.

Regarding a black box to allow this unit to play 4K/60 HDR, there should be no issue playing any 4K/60 HDR content; the projector would I assume ignore the HDR flag and play it as SDR. But in any event there would be no way to get it to process and display that signal as 60 Hz HDR regardless of any device that preceded it. It is possible, perhaps, to convert 60 Hz HDR to 24 Hz HDR either in the projector or by the source or a video processor in between, which I gather would retain the HDR information and simply play the program back at the slower frame rate. I didn't have a 60 Hz HDR source on hand to test this, but will query with Epson about what happens when the projector encounters a 4K/60 HDR signal.
Manfred Posted Oct 31, 2018 10:01 AM PST
Check out HD Fury linker. Gamers are using this to convert 4k/60/HDR signals by dropping color depth. In a videogame, this is usually a non issue. It can also take 60hz signals and convert to 24.
Rob Sabin, Editor Posted Oct 31, 2018 10:02 AM PST
Great tip, Manfred. Thanks.
Jeff Posted Oct 31, 2018 2:20 PM PST
What screen recommendation would you make with this projector if used in a blacked out dedicated theater room? Would a gray screen be preferable over white in order to help contrast?
Rob Sabin, Editor Posted Oct 31, 2018 2:24 PM PST
I don't think a gray screen would be called for here in a dark room with controlled light. I got fantastic results with my Stewart matte white Studiotek 1.3, even with 3D, up to a 100-inch image. Gray screens have their place for punching up blacks in certain types of less-than-ideal conditions, but they also mess with the picture in other ways.
john hunter Posted Oct 31, 2018 2:45 PM PST
Thanks for such a detailed review. It has made my mind up and when it is released down under, I'll be in the queue.
Ilya Posted Oct 31, 2018 10:00 PM PST
Thanks so much for posting a thorough review. I'm wondering whether the projector's video processing handles HD cable/satellite sources well. Any help would be great.
Rob Sabin, Editor Posted Oct 31, 2018 10:02 PM PST
I watched a lot of cable TV on it and the 1080i/60 signals coming off my settop box looked great most of the time on HD movies. News had a bit of the digital noise and artifacts, and 720p content coming off Fox and ESPN suffered the usual modest sacrifice of overall clarity that comes with that (whether I let the cable box do the scaling or the projector). One thing I mentioned in the review is that you can't use Frame Interpolation to improve motion resolution on sports or other programs unless your set-top box has an option for outputting 1080p/24 resolution. Even 1080p/60 won't work. My basic Samsung cable box tops out at 1080i/60.
Steve Atkinson Posted Oct 31, 2018 10:14 PM PST
Thank you for the comprehensive review Rob!

I am wondering when Epson will release the update to the 5040 and how it will compare... hopefully the glass lens will transfer over.
Rob Sabin, Editor Posted Oct 31, 2018 10:16 PM PST
Steve, they haven't said when we might see that update, but I know their US team was in Japan last week for product planning and I'd have to believe that was among the subjects. I do know they carried over the 4010's lens from last year's 4000; they basically said it was already outstanding and no reason to mess with it. It's not clear to me if the existing 5040 has the same lens (as has been reported) or something better.
Manfred Posted Nov 1, 2018 4:08 AM PST
Great review! I made some adjustments based off of your review. Icing on an already excellent cake!

In regards to input lag, like brightness and uniformity, it needs context. As a movie buff but also an avid gamer (consoles & PC) this was a critical metric for me.

Sourcing from multiple sites, the fastest 4k large format TVs in 2017/2018 reviewed as excellent for gaming range from 12ms - 32ms. In 2016 it was 19ms - 35ms. 5 years ago anything below 40 was considered great and 70 was acceptable!

While the HC4010 is towards the lower end of what's considered great for 2018 it's still considered great!

As far as pro gamers go: Games are locked @ 60 or 30 for competition. With pro gaming montiors or the fastest large 4k TVs, you're 1 frame slower at 60 and its a wash @ 30. Imperceptible for most. If youre competing you're not using a projector anyways.
Rob Sabin, Editor Posted Nov 1, 2018 8:41 AM PST
Some much needed perspective here. I'm not a gamer so really didn't have that context, but I will going forward. I had assumed because we see projectors considered ideal for gaming get down as low as 16 ms that 28 ms represented a more serious issue. Thank you, Manfred.
David Posted Nov 1, 2018 8:48 AM PST
It's interesting that while the overall lumens are higher in the 4010 over the older 4000, the brightness uniformity is better on the 4000 model (per the results you posted for the 4000 model) - "The HC 4000 registers 87% uniformity with the lens at wide angle and 85% at telephoto."

Is that typical of raising the lumen output, which would result in worse brightness uniformity?
Rob Sabin, Editor Posted Nov 1, 2018 9:56 AM PST
David, I'm not sure if light output correlates in any way to uniformity, but I'm inclined to think the differences here are related to sample-to-sample variation (it is the same lens on both models) or maybe even to some minor differences in how the tests were executed or instruments used since different reviewers were involved. But the key here is that this is an extremely good lens and there's no visible effect. I refer you and other readers to David Stone's excellent recent article, "Brightness Uniformity: What It Means...and What It Doesn't."
Daniel Posted Nov 1, 2018 3:04 PM PST
Looks like DCI-P3 color filter is only available on Digital Cinema mode, but the lumen output is too low for my environment. Which mode would otherwise give the most color-accurate picture for UHD content between Bright Cinema, Cinema and Natural? Not sure exactly what the difference is between those modes in this context. Thanks for the thorough review!
Rob Sabin, Editor Posted Nov 1, 2018 3:09 PM PST
Daniel, Natural would be my first choice to try if Digital Cinema doesn't produce enough light for you. The whites are a perfect D65 neutral-gray out of the box and it's a good, punchy picture. If that doesn't work out to your preference, Bright Cinema will deliver about the same light output with slightly warmer (subtly redder) whites.
Mike Posted Nov 1, 2018 11:35 PM PST
I have questions about brightness - looks like 4010 ANSI lumens are way below 5040ub numbers in similar modes. For example: Dynamic 3527 vs 2621 Bright Cinema 2401 vs 1704

It's about 50% difference... Is it true or is it somehow related to how you measured it? (Since this is a deal breaker for me - right now I do use 3700, and it has similar numbers to 5040UB)
Rob Sabin, Editor Posted Nov 2, 2018 9:18 AM PST
Mike, I can't give you a hard answer on this. Contributing editor M. David Stone did the 5040UB review, which showed significantly higher output than rated 2,500 lumen specs, while I measured with my own meter in my own space marginally higher than rated 2400 lumen spec for the 4010. The measurements are conducted to ANSI Lumen standards, which measure the light coming off the lens and take into account any variation in image size. You might check other reviews of the 5040 to see if you can find any other independent light measurements and how they match up to ours. Ditto for the 4010 as more reviews appear.
Adrian Posted Nov 2, 2018 1:30 PM PST
Thanks for an excellent review Rob.

I have a lot of standard definition DVDs.

How did the Epson perform when upscaling standard definition -- any obvious artifacts?

Thanks again!
Rob Sabin, Editor Posted Nov 2, 2018 7:08 PM PST
Adrian, the projector itself didn't do the greatest job scaling up from native 480i. I looked at a couple of DVDs, Dreamgirls and Ray (bit of a theme there). Not a lot of artifacts, but very soft. You'll want to let your source do the scaling if it's got a good processor in it, or perhaps a well-equipped A/V receiver in between the source and projector. Letting my Oppo BDP-103 Blu-ray player scale to 1080p/60 and then letting the projector take it from there made things much more watchable. But at the end of the day, it's still standard def DVD blown up on a big screen -- can't expect miracles.
Tee460 Posted Nov 3, 2018 10:58 AM PST
Hi, great review!

Is there a night and day difference between the 4000 vs 4010 in overall picture quality?

Also is it sharper than the 4000?
Rob Sabin, Editor Posted Nov 3, 2018 11:30 AM PST
We do not have a 4000 to directly compare with the 4010. I would say the differences would be modest but probably worth the approximately $300 step up price between the $1,500 close-out price on the 4000 vs the $1800 promotional price on the 4010 being offered at Best Buy (at least for now). The primary differences in the 4010 are as follows:

- A bit of extra brightness (2400 lumen max rating vs 2200 lumen in the 4000), which will be beneficial if you do any viewing in ambient light.

- Slightly higher rated contrast, 200,000:1 dynamic vs 160,000:1 in the 4000. Not a huge difference and probably hard to see even in perfect conditions, but maybe visible to some degree in a side-by-side in dark room viewing with the right settings and content.

- Any benefit in detail from the updated pixel-shifting in the 4010 is marginal at best, but it's possible there might be some observable benefit. At least one user on AVS Forum who saw both projectors in his space reported a slight improvement in clarity. But both projectors use the same high quality lens (16 elements total with 15 glass elements)used in the step up 5040UB.

- Epson has made some modest modifications to their HDR tone-mapping scheme, supposedly to preserve a bit more detail in bright highlights, but these wouldn't be terribly discernible.

Przemo Posted Nov 3, 2018 11:35 AM PST
Hello, greetings from Poland! Great review. Can't wait for the "battle" 4010 vs 5040! Is the 5040 still a better choice than 4010? Contrast, black levels, sharpness, color reproduction and HDR? Maybe some of this is better on the 4010?
Rob Sabin, Editor Posted Nov 3, 2018 2:57 PM PST
The significantly better contrast in the 5040 (or the 5040 successor that is to be announced shortly) makes it by far the best choice for dark-room theater viewing. The updates to Epson's pixel-shifting and HDR processing in the 4010 provide modest benefits that are vastly outweighed by the significantly deeper blacks and better contrast on the 5040. If you plan to do your viewing with some ambient light, that difference may be lost and the less costly 4010 remains a good choice.
Obie Posted Nov 5, 2018 1:29 AM PST
>> "Regarding a black box to allow this unit to play 4K/60 HDR, there should be no issue playing any 4K/60 HDR content; the projector would I assume ignore the HDR flag and play it as SDR."

I'm interested to know if folks have any issue streaming Netflix or Prime 4K content.
Rob Sabin, Editor Posted Nov 5, 2018 1:40 AM PST
Obie, one thing I can tell you is that when I played the only 4K/60 Hz HDR content I had access to, the UHD Blu-ray of Billy Lynn's Long Halftime Walk, the projector ended up playing it back as 4K/60 Hz SDR with 8-bit color processing and Rec709 color space. This was with Sony's UBP-X800 as the source, but I'm not sure it would be the same with every source. Keep in mind that the signal that your source ultimately sends to the display, whether a streamer or a disc player, is arrived at as the result of its polling of the display during the initial HDMI handshake. In essence, the source component sends a memo to the display and says, "what's the best you can accept in terms of resolution and frame rate and color depth?" and then adjusts its signal output to not exceed that irrespective of what your settings might be in the source setup menu. We can be sure that no source connected to the HC4010 will send 4K/60 HDR -- it's beyond the projector's capabilities. But it might be possible that another source might send 4K/60 SDR with 10-bit depth or could be set to default to 24 Hz with wider Rec2020 gamut. I've not had the opportunity to hook a 4K streaming device to this projector. Maybe other readers can discuss their experience with Netflix or Prime 4K streaming with the HC4000 or HC5040UB. These have the same HDMI bandwidth limitations as the HC4010.
Steve Posted Nov 5, 2018 5:35 AM PST
Almost pulled the trigger on buying the 4010 last week. The comment about the 4010 vs 5040 (or its successor) regarding its deeper blacks and better contrast: "makes it by far the best choice for dark-room theater viewing", made me glad I didn't. It was just the information I'd been waiting for prior to purchasing my next projector for a dedicated, light controlled theater room. I'm sure I speak for many when I thank you, Rob, for your insightful and timely responses to our questions!
Rob Sabin, Editor Posted Nov 5, 2018 6:00 AM PST
Glad to help, Steve. To offer some additional perspective, no one should come away thinking the 4010's contrast is seriously wanting in any way. It's quite good for its price, but when you start stepping up to higher price points in projectors, you're traditionally paying for better contrast/black level and often a better lens. These days, you can also pay more for a laser light engine that does not necessarily guarantee better contrast, or for the privilege of 4K playback. In this case, with two lamp-based, 4K compatible projectors, the big step up in price between the $1799 4010 and the currently $2500 5040 is a huge and beneficial jump in contrast/deep blacks. Bottom line: it always comes down to budget. I'm a fan of buying the best projector you can reasonably afford with the maximum discernible performance benefit, and know that you'll be amortizing out the extra cost over many enjoyable hours of viewing. If you can't bring yourself to buy the best because of budget restrictions, buy the best you can in your price range. This 4010 is among the best under $2000.
Steve Jonesman Posted Nov 5, 2018 11:00 AM PST
Are you planning on doing a review on the Optoma UHL55? I am on the fence between this and it.
Rob Sabin, Editor Posted Nov 5, 2018 11:20 AM PST
Steve, no immediate plans to review the UHL55, but it's on our radar for a look at some point. One reason we haven't immediately jumped on it is that it is a specialty product that does not provide the form factor or features we normally associate with a high quality enthusiast projector. Rather, it is a compact model with a cube-like case that seems intended for temporary placement on a coffee table. It has a digital rather than high quality optical zoom; has auto focus and auto keystone correction, neither of which are particularly desirable unless you're looking for something that's easy to set up again and again; a recommended "ideal" image size of only 80 inches within its 30in to 200in range; and brightness output rated at just 1,500 lumens vs the 2,400 lumens you get with the HC4010. It carries a relatively high price of $1,599 list that I assume is driven in part by its solid state LED light source, but does not appear to be playing on the same field as the Epson. I'll be curious to review the UHL55 at some point in the context of its intended use case and audience, but Optoma's more traditional 4K models in the $1,500-$2,000 price range or this Epson would be a better choice for the serious enthusiast.
Wes Posted Nov 23, 2018 9:06 PM PST
Thank you for the review!

I'm a bit confused. Can I game 4k at 60fps on this?

Also, how does 5000 hours translate for actual years of use? I understand that could be a big range, but just trying to justify the cost of use of this over the Optoma UHD60.
Weston Posted Nov 26, 2018 8:18 AM PST
So can it output 1080p/60hz/HDR? or is it only SDR with 1080p/60hz?
Rob Sabin, Editor Posted Nov 26, 2018 1:27 PM PST
Wes, the HC4010's 10.2GB HDMI version 1.4 ports limit the projector to 4K HDR at a 24Hz frame rate. So you can do 4K/60 without HDR, or 4K/24 with HDR.

As for how quickly you might use up those 5000 hours, you only have to estimate who many hours per week you might use the projector in an average week and do the math. It may be a very different number for a gamer who's on the projector every day for several hours than for a movie enthusiast who barely has time to watch two movies a week. Also, the lamp ages and loses brightness over that 5,000 hours and some people will look to replace it sooner to restore full performance. So there are multiple variables to look at.

As for 1080p/SDR vs HDR--I'm not aware of any 1080p content encoded with HDR. As far as I know HDR is strictly a feature of UHD/4K content.
Kevin Attwood Posted Dec 12, 2018 10:27 PM PST
Hi Rob, I'm a bit confused about the resolutions accepted on the 4010. Your specs page shows only - 720p, 1080i, 1080p/60, 2160p/60, 576i, 576p, 480p, 480i No 24 or 50Hz I was going to buy this projector but stopped when I checked your specs cause I want 24 and 50hz compatibility.

Which specs are correct?

The User Guide shows - HDMI input signals VGA 60 640 × 480 SDTV (480i/480p) 60 720 × 480 SDTV (576i/576p) 50 720 × 576 HDTV (720p) 50/60 1280 × 720 HDTV (1080i) 50/60 1920 × 1080 HDTV (1080p) 24/30/50/60 1920 × 1080 4K × 2K 24/30/50/60 3840 × 2160 24/50/60 4096 × 2160
Rob Sabin, Editor Posted Dec 13, 2018 5:47 AM PST
Kevin, the user guide is correct. Our database is showing only the maximum frame rate for each signal resolution. You can move ahead confidently with your purchase. Apologies for the confusion.

Richard D Posted Dec 27, 2018 6:31 AM PST
I have a 134 inch screen and sitting at 15 feet do you recommend epson 4010 or optoma uhd60 ?
Rob Sabin, Editor Posted Dec 29, 2018 10:45 AM PST
I suggest you read our comparison review of the 4010's predecessor, the HC 4000, and the UHD60. The 4000 is nearly identical in performance and all the other differentiating factors still apply with the 4010.

https://www.projectorcentral.com/epson-4000-optoma-uhd60-review.htm
Thomas Ramm Posted Jan 1, 2019 7:17 AM PST
How is it possible that the street price of the Epson 4010 jumps back up to $1,999. Over the last 2 days all the store that used to sell for $1,799 are now $1,999.
Rob Sabin, Editor Posted Jan 1, 2019 1:39 PM PST
Thomas, short answer is that Epson was running a time-limited promo that apparently expired. Manufacturers control the street pricing of their projectors with MAP, or minimum advertised price, agreements with their authorized resellers. Retailers cannot by law be told what to sell a projector for, but their failure to follow MAP policy set by the manufacturers can result in the loss of things like marketing promotional support or even their vendor agreement. If you do find it advertised cheaper and it's not widely seen at that price, you should take care that you're buying from a true authorized retailer or your warranty may be in jeopardy.

John Cuttle Posted Jan 7, 2019 9:05 AM PST
Just installed the Epson 4010 as an upgrade in my dedicated home theater. All is well except when displaying the Pattern, I am unable to precisely control the image width. It is a little too wide and spills over on the 108" screen frame. Any attempt the correct this with the lens zoom instructions results in the desired width but decreases the height so it does not fill the screen vertically. Keystone adjustments do not help this situation. This is a fixed ceiling mount. Do you have any suggestions?
Zug Posted Jan 9, 2019 2:05 PM PST
Hey Rob, I am considering this vs 5040, but the power supply issues that has plagues Epson models 5040 and 4000 has made me wary of going with Epson. What is your opinion about power supply issues on Epson 4000/5040?

Thanks for the awesome review!
Rob Sabin, Editor Posted Jan 9, 2019 2:27 PM PST
Zug, I recently addressed this question with Epson, who acknowledged that they had identified the power supply issue with the 5040 and addressed it during the HC 5040 and HC 4000's production lifecyle for new projectors leaving the factory. They said that some earlier samples still in retail inventory might suffer this issue, but they have been aggressive in addressing the failures through their usual customer service channels. New models built on the same chassis, such as the HC 4010 and the upcoming replacement for the 5040, should not suffer from the same failures.
Rob Sabin, Editor Posted Jan 11, 2019 1:11 PM PST
John, assuming the projector's aspect ratio is set for 16:9 you should be able to get a more-or-less perfect match with a 16:9 screen. Situations where this isn't possible usually means the screen is not a perfect 16:9 or that the wall on which the screen is mounted is itself not straight and presenting a perfectly flat surface to the projector. If the projector is not facing perfectly forward and is spun a few degrees too far to the right or left, that can also have an affect and create keystone issues that may cause spillover on one side of the screen, but you'd see it as the top of the image being non-parallel with the screen edge and leaning one way or the other.
Brian Dean Posted Jan 23, 2019 1:02 PM PST
I'm looking at projectors for the first time in over 10 years. It's very easy to get lost in the weeds! I'm looking to upgrade my InFocus IN76 (which I love). It's wayyyy beyond the life of the bulb, and I figure it's time to upgrade anyway. I really LOVE the picture quality of my IN76, so I'm afraid of getting something I'm not as happy with. Although, I have to assume almost anything I get now will be as good or better as my 10+ year old projector, so my fears are almost certainly unfounded. Right now I'm looking at this Epson model, or perhaps the Sony HW45ES. Does anyone have any advice on either of these two, or perhaps any other models in general? (4k is not that important to me. I'd rather have a quality, color-accurate image.)
Ed Riemer Posted Feb 7, 2019 8:22 AM PST
Considering this projector but am concerned with the fact that it has NO audio output! I use headsets and a stand alone audio system which requires the traditional phono output. Is there a way around this that I'm not aware of?
Rob Sabin, Editor Posted Feb 7, 2019 8:40 AM PST
Ed, the workaround here is to tap your video source component (or components) for their alternate outputs. If your source(s) have an HDMI output, they will likely have a dedicated audio output that is either Toslink optical or analog stereo in either 3.5mm minijack or dual-RCA configuration. If the output is optical and you need analog, there are inexpensive converters available that will convert optical to analog stereo, though these put out line-level signals. Your standalone audio system is equipped to handle line-level signals, though you would require a headphone amplifier (with its own volume control) for your phones if you're not already tapping the headphones into your existing audio system. Just search Monoprice.com or Amazon.com to see options for optical-to-analog converters and inexpensive headphone amplifiers.

Another option is to use an HDMI audio extractor, such as the one linked below. It'll take the HDMI signal from your source component, give you Toslink and analog audio outputs, and pass along the HDMI signal to the projector. Again, the audio outputs are line-level and will not directly drive your headphones to appropriate volume nor give you any volume control the way your existing projector remote does. If necessary, you could add a headphone amp just for when you're using the phones.

I've never used this device and can't say if it might create any issues with lipsync, but it seems to be rated for full bandwidth 4K signals, so it should not degrade your audio signals. It's cheap enough to give it a try.

https://www.monoprice.com/product?p_id=24278&gclid=CjwKCAiAy-_iBRAaEiwAYhSlAxQhe6HpHZMys5H7EPqHEhUz8_eD7y-x4RyTCxN19ULrVbb1L_rSWxoCHnwQAvD_BwE
Brent Posted Feb 13, 2019 6:49 PM PST
Hi Rob! Thank you for your amazing reviews. I am currently in a great mental debate over the 4010 vs 5040. We currently have a Sony VPL HW30ES. Our theatre is light controlled, however does not have dark ceilings (just can't get the other half to agree). We want to ensure that the step from the Sony is solid. Would you suggest one over the other based on the unit we're coming from? Cheers!
Rob Sabin, Editor Posted Feb 17, 2019 10:48 AM PST
Hi Brent. Not sure if you saw our comparison review of these two models, but I've provided the link below. This should help you a great deal. I would say that either of these will be a solid step up from your current Sony. The HW30ES is a terrific projector, one that I actually had as my own reference for a number of years. But the two Epson models have much more brightness than the Sony's rated 1300 lumens, and better optics.

Also keep in mind that there's an expectation that the 5040UB will be replaced at some point this year with an updated model.

Epson Home Cinema 4010 vs 5040UB
cme4brain Posted Mar 6, 2019 4:40 AM PST
Love the review. I was an Epson 5030 customer and next upgrade wanted to go to the 5040 or the 4010 but Epson's reliability made me go to Sony. Two months out of the original warranty I paid $900 to fix the HDMI input port- a $5 part. Last month it failed again. Also, if you scan the forums (AVS) there is a known power supply issue with the Epsons that Epson knows about but will not fix- it will simply send you another projector and HOPE that it works. Some Epson customers have had FIVE projectors replaced by Epson. The second $5 part failure and the looming power supply failure swore me off of Epson, even thought I acknowledge they are king of the less expensive projectors. Too bad too, I wanted a 4K Epson but am superbly happy with my Sony HW45ES!
Rob Sabin, Editor Posted Mar 7, 2019 6:16 AM PST
Thanks, CME. I think this is a comment worth addressing as I did exchange emails with Epson about the ongoing power supply issues with the HC5040UB and an apparently lesser number of HC4000 samples built on the same chassis. Their response was the following:

"Epson has identified and addressed an issue in select projector models that may cause a small percentage of units to not power on. The issue has already been addressed in models shipping from Epson, but there is a possibility of a small fraction of units still in channel inventory that may be affected. Epson places the highest priority on product quality and customer satisfaction. For customers in need of a replacement unit, please contact Epson customer support at 1-800-788-0336. We will handle each occurrence on a case-by-case basis consistent with our warranty."

I know that sounds like marketing-speak, but here's my own bottom line interpretation (no additional input or insight from Epson, just my speculation): they obviously became well aware of a widespread issue somewhere in the life of the product (whether caused by a a defective part shipment or an unforeseen design issue) and addressed it as quickly as I'm sure they could. These have proven extremely popular models for them, and I believe them when they say it's a small percentage overall that are affected, even though it may seem otherwise given the appropriately loud protests from vocal AVS members.

Look at it from Epson's business perspective: they discover a problem, they realize it's not a 100% failure rate that would suggest it requires the massive loss associated with a full recall of the product, so they make the commitment that they'll fix it in future production from that point on (or the earliest they can make the required changes if re-engineering and QC testing is involved), and they make a concurrent commitment to stand behind customers whose products fail. If all Epson has to cover that failure is the ability to send another unit with the original design or parts that also may or may not fail, then that's what they're going to send and hope the second unit ends up working better for the customer. Keep in mind that this is pretty much a nightmare scenario for a manufacturer -- it's very costly financially to replace these units and it's costly to the brand image. If they could have fixed it sooner I'm guessing they would have. And I think everyone can be confident that, short of buying one of those leftover and lingering earlier 5040's hanging around in retail inventory, this won't be happening again with the new models built on essentially the same chassis. There would be no logical explanation for this issue carrying over into the 4010, or the upcoming replacement for the 5040.

I can't speak to whether every single customer who suffered a failure was given the fair shake they deserved; a product that failed from this specific power supply issue six months or a year out of warranty should have rightfully been replaced for free in my view, and I haven't read all the posts to know if anyone was left badly out in the cold. But I gather the vast majority of people who experienced this failure were taken care of at least once if not repeatedly, and that Epson did the best they could with a difficult situation.

Brian Berman Posted Jun 1, 2019 5:51 AM PST
Hi

Recently my Home Cinema 8350 died. The HDMI ports just stopped working. I'm considering just getting the 4010 but I'm wondering if getting the 4010 is worth the slight uptick in the price over the 4000? Also, I was looking at the Sony VPL-HW45ES. They are both currently $1799. Is that a worthy comparison to the 4010/4000? I was going to stay with Epson but the Sony seems like it could be interesting.
Pablo Posted Aug 25, 2019 6:23 AM PST
Hi how are you. I have a Panasonic Pt ae7000 I would like to ask you if you think it is an improvement to buy an Epson home cinema 4010. Is the Epson better in general image? In 3D, is it brighter? Thank you so much. From Argenrina.
Rob Sabin, Editor Posted Aug 30, 2019 7:28 AM PST
Pablo, your PT AE7000 came out in 2011 but is still an excellent 1080p projector provided you have or are willing to purchase a fresh lamp for it. That said, there would be three potential benefits to upgrading to the Epson 4010, and only you can decide the value of these: 1)about 20% greater brightness (which should benefit your 3D viewing); (2)improved apparent detail (this is hard to fully evaluate without a side-by-side, but I'm guessing that the lens on the 4010 is likely better and that lens in combination with Epson's late generation pixel-shifting and enhancement technology will very likely give you noticeably sharper images than any straight 1080p model); and 3) access to UHD HDR content, preferably through a new UHD Blu-ray player.

I think it's a worthwhile upgrade, but it's ultimately your call. But you should factor in the cost of a new lamp for your Panny before you make a decision if you've not replaced it recently (or ever...).
Pablo Posted Aug 30, 2019 11:18 AM PST
Hi. It is the first time I write by this means. I am from Argentina and a regular reader of your page. I own a Panasonic pt ae7000. It has given me many satisfactions. Its quality is excellent. I'm about to buy an Epson home cinema 4010. My question is: Do you think I'm going to see an improvement in image compared to Panasonic? Am I going to miss the contrast of the Panasonic? Thank you so much
Rob Sabin, Editor Posted Aug 30, 2019 11:41 AM PST
Pablo, I cannot say with certainty without seeing these projectors side-by-side if you'll see a difference in contrast.
Jeff Posted Nov 18, 2019 3:16 PM PST
I need a wireless HDMI to connect to my audio receiver (Sony STR-DN1080). I watch Netflix, Prime, and AppleTV through a 4k Apple TV unit and I also now have DirecTV's 4K box.

Are there any wireless HDMI options that will allow me to maximize the outputs through the Epson 4010?
Rob Sabin, Editor Posted Nov 18, 2019 5:00 PM PST
We reviewed the DVDO Air 4K wireless HDMI kit, but discovered that it places limitations on the signal that the streaming services will send you because of its own bandwidth limitations. I'm not aware right now of another 4K wireless HDMI solution that gets around this.

https://www.projectorcentral.com/DVDO-Air-4K.htm
Denis Posted Dec 5, 2019 3:27 PM PST
Hi! So, I'm on the market for a new sub $2k projector and must make a choice between your top picks: 4010, UHD60 and BenQ HT3550. I'm primarily interested in watching 4k HDR on 100-120" screen in a medium lit living room. I think better brightness of Epson will really come in handy but I'm concerned about HDR performance and resolution. In you review of UHD50 vs 4000 you basically say that Optoma is better with 4k content. 4010 improved on that, but did it improve enough to match Optoma and/or even BenQ? Also, is 8-bit color processing on UHD60 something I should pay attention to? How noticeable is it in real-world scenarios? Thanks to everyone for response in advance!
Vince Posted Dec 10, 2019 10:48 AM PST
Hi Rob, because of your review I did get the 4010.. Really like it! I am using the Sony UMB-X800M2 4K player and I already had Avengers Blu Ray, so as a treat got the 4K version to see how it compares. When I use the blu ray version, I have the 4K Enhancement option available on the 4010, but when I put the 4K version in the 4K Enhancement is grayed out. The Sony displays it is outputting 4K/24P 4.2.2. 12 bit, but I thought the Epson would have the 4K Enhancement option available since it is not a true 4K projector, so it is actually diaplying the 4K movie?? Did you run across that using your 4K test blu ray player ? I don't know what brand/model you were using. Thank you in advance for your input!
Rob Sabin, Editor Posted Dec 13, 2019 8:20 AM PST
Vince, I use the same UHD player in my testing and can assure you it works great with the Epson. The 4K Enhancement is grayed out in the menu because it is automatically forced on when the projector sees 4K content; they deactivate that option in the menu since you can't turn it off. You will see that the Image Preset control is active with 4K content, which is actually the adjustment for the degree of 4K enhancement that's applied. In most cases, I'd recommend leaving 4K Enhancement turned on with 1080p content as well. Turning it off basically means you're looking at the native 1080p chip with neither pixel shifting or the sophisticated signal processing associated with that feature. In most cases with most 1080p content, there was an appropriate setting for Image Preset that applied the right amount of sharpening without introducing obvious edge artifacts.
Vince Posted Dec 31, 2019 6:27 AM PST
Hi Rob, because of your review I did get the 4010.. Really like it! I am using the Sony UMB-X800M2 4K player and I already had Avengers Blu Ray, so as a treat got the 4K version to see how it compares. When I use the blu ray version, I have the 4K Enhancement option available on the 4010, but when I put the 4K version in the 4K Enhancement is grayed out. The Sony displays it is outputting 4K/24P 4.2.2. 12 bit, but I thought the Epson would have the 4K Enhancement option available since it is not a true 4K projector, so it is actually displaying the 4K movie?? Did you run across that using your 4K test blu ray player ? I don't know what brand/model you were using. Thank you in advance for your input!
Rob Sabin, Editor Posted Jan 11, 2020 7:15 AM PST
4k enhancement appears grayed out in the menu with 4k content on this projector because it is on by default. The 5-step Image Preset control, which adjusts the level of enhancement applied, is active.
Jason Posted Jan 26, 2020 7:50 PM PST
So I recently picked up the Epson 4010 and hooked up my 4K Apple TV to it but have been unable to get 4K HDR to work. Is there a trick I’m missing? Or is there a different projector I need that works with the Apple TV in 4K HDR mode? Maybe it’s not worth changing?
Rob Sabin, Editor Posted Jan 27, 2020 8:13 AM PST
Jason, you might be running into a HDMI EDID issue associated with the HC4010's limited bandwidth HDMI 1.4 ports. For background: EDID is a code that gets transferred during the initial HDMI handshake between a source and a display that tells the source what capabilities the display has and therefore the type of signal it should be sent. If you had a display that only did 1080p, the source would know not to send it 4K, for example, and would (usually) automatically downconvert a 4K signal.

In this case, when you are streaming, the EDID actually goes all the way back to the streaming service such as Netflix or Amazon, which then adjusts accordingly. And what you'll find is that some services, including those two, won't send HDR unless it sees that the display can accept 4K/60Hz with HDR, which (as we've reported) the HC4010 won't do...even though it does 4K/24 with HDR just fine. You can read more about this phenomenon in our review of the DVDO Air 4K wireless HDMI adapter, where our reviewer encountered these limitations with streaming services due to that device's HDMI 1.4 bandwidth limits. Not having HDMI 2.0 ports in this instance may even be causing the service to send 1080p as it defaults to the lowest common denominator if you can't accept the highest level of 4K.

I have heard, though not verified myself, that some devices used for managing EDIDs, such as those offered by HDFury, may provide a workaround by communicating to the streaming device and the service provider that the display accepts HDMI 4K/60 w HDR, then converting the received 60 Hz signal to 24 Hz with the HDR flag intact so your projector can display it, just as it would with a UHD Blu-ray source set for 4K/24 HDR. You'll want to verify that with some web research before making a purchase, however.
Jeremyr Posted Jan 27, 2020 9:19 AM PST
It looks as though the 4010 is a perfect replacement for my dead Epson 1080UB, but...Can you recommend any others that are close in price and quality? Thanks in advance...
Rob Sabin, Editor Posted Jan 27, 2020 10:23 AM PST
Jeremyr, the BenQ HT3550 is a candidate in your price range that puts you into a true 3840x2160 projector rather than one that uses Epson's 1080p imagers with pixel-shifting and image enhancement, but you'll sacrifice some brightness and motorized lens features, which may not be relevant to you. The BenQ TK850, essentially the same projector but a little brighter, is another choice; we have a comparison of these two underway and will publish it shortly. Also available for slightly less money is the Epson HC3800, which is a bit brighter than the HC4010 and has Epson's most advanced controls for HDR, but also sacrifices the HC4010's high quality motorized lens. A third option to look at would be the Optoma UHD52ALV, the update to the popular UHD51ALV (which we have tested). We plan a review of that shortly.
Jeremyr Posted Feb 1, 2020 9:25 AM PST
Thanks, Rob...Where would the Epson 5040 fit into the mix? I've found a very reasonably-priced factory refurbished one ($1200) & it seems to be a good fit for my room. Thoughts?
Rob Sabin, Editor Posted Feb 1, 2020 9:42 AM PST
Hi Jeremy. I just addressed this in response to your similar comment left for our 4010 vs 5050UB comparison, but I'll repeat it here for the benefit of other readers. My comments below will explain why there are still a lot of refurbished 5040s around...something to be aware of, but not necessarily something that should prevent you from enjoying a great deal on an excellent projector...




"Jeremy, if you plan to do a lot of dark-room viewing you'll enjoy the benefit of the extra depth of black that the 5040's UB technology can provide. One potential caveat to flag for you: I know that 5040s are available at an attractive price these days and at steep discount to the 5050, but be advised that this is now an outdated model built on a platform that saw a lot of ongoing power supply failures during its run. Epson said they addressed the issue and has stood by its customers under warranty with swaps as needed, but there are reports around the internet of folks having had to replace more than one of these. The problem cost Epson a lot of money and good will it's an issue that we can all assume was addressed from the ground up in the new 4010 and 5050UB. I'll just mention that the other significant benefits found in the 5050UB for the extra money are full 18 Gbps HDMI inputs that allow 4K/HDR at 60 Hz frame rate if that's desired (mostly a gaming thing), and perhaps more critically, Epson's late generation 16-point slider control for HDR brightness. That said, black levels and brightness on both projectors will be about the same, and the HDR on the 5040 and 4010 (which share the same 4 step HDR brightness options) is still excellent and likely based on similar tone-mapping criteria and judgements. Assuming you feel comfortable jumping on the 5040, you're not passing up very much vs the 5050 and you'll get noticeably better dark scene performance vs the 4010."

RAFAEL Posted Mar 8, 2020 8:18 PM PST
I wonder if the overall image quality in the 4010 of a movie played in UHD Bluray 4K SDR is better than the same movie played in 1080p standard Bluray. 4k > Projector needs to downscale to 1080P and apply the filters 1080P > Projector just apply the filters (4k enhancement on)
Dan Posted Mar 21, 2020 8:51 AM PST
Wondering what projector mount you recommend for the 4010? Purchased a Suptek PR05 and am not impressed Thank you
Rob Sabin, Editor Posted Mar 21, 2020 2:16 PM PST
Dan, this is a fairly heavy projector and you'll get both the best safety and the most adjustability by sticking with one of the major brands. Suggest you check in with one of the resellers under the Where to Buy Projector Mounts link found on our homepage. Top navbar under the Projectors drop down...

Post a comment

 
Enter the numbers as they appear to the left