ProjectorCentral.com
WORLD'S LARGEST
PROJECTOR RESOURCE
Celebrating 20 Years
Top 10 Find a Projector Reviews Throw CalculatorCalc Buyer's Guide Expert Blogs Projector Forums
Share:
Best Home Theater Projector
Performance
5
Features
Ease of Use
Value
Intended Use:
Home Theater
Epson Pro LS9600e Projector Epson Pro LS9600e
(add to Compare List)
Go to My Compare List

Street Price: n/a
Lumens:1300
Weight: 39.7 lbs
Resolution:1920x1080
Aspect Ratio:16:9
Technology:3 LCD
Lens:2.1x powered
Lens Shift:H + V
Lamp Life:30,000 Hrs
30,000 (eco)
Lamp Cost:n/a
Warranty:3 year
Connectors:  Composite, Component, VGA In, HDMI, HDMI (MHL), Network, Wireless Networking, RS232, 12-Volt Trigger
Video Formats:  480i, 480p, 720p, 1080i, 1080p/60, 1080p/24, 1080p/30, 1080p/50, 576i, 576p

Epson Pro Cinema LS9600e
1080p Laser Projector

Bill Livolsi, December 4, 2014

Conclusion

The Epson Pro Cinema LS9600e is one of the best 1080p projectors we've ever had the pleasure of working with. It is a complete package, offering every feature, bell, and whistle one could possibly desire for home theater--except 4K enhancement. The combination of 3LCD Reflective panels and an all-laser light source make it a unique projector not just in Epson's line-up, but in the world of home theater.

Where the LS9600e runs into trouble is price-competitiveness. The Sony HW55ES is priced $2,000 less than the LS9600e, and the price difference can be difficult to justify since the picture quality is almost identical. Of course, if you want the longer life laser light source and/or the automated Lens Memory that the 9600e has and the HW55ES does not, that makes the step up to the LS9600e an easier decision.

On the other hand, if you've already decided to go at least $5,999 for the LS9600e, Epson's flagship LS10000 with 4K Enhancement takes picture quality into a completely different league for just $2,000 more. Side by side viewing of Blu-ray material on the LS10000 against either the 9600e or the Sony HW55ES shows the LS10000 to be in an obvious class by itself. Any serious videophile who can spare the incremental $2,000 to gain this whole new level of image definition is well advised to do so. In short, while the LS9600e is an excellent 1080p home theater projector in its own right, the competitive options at the moment are giving it a case of middle-child syndrome.


Previous Page
Competition
Review Contents: Viewing Experience Key Features Performance Limitations
  Competition Conclusion
Comments (11) Post a Comment
gil arroyo Posted Dec 5, 2014 10:47 AM PST
please review the production release of the LS10000.
Darin Posted Dec 5, 2014 11:48 AM PST
It would be interesting to hear how the images from the LS9600e and LS10000 compare to the JVC RS49 (or RS4910). It looks to me like the best street prices on the JVCs are a fair amount lower than either of these Epsons even though the RS49 and RS4910 are more expensive than the Sony HW55.

Thanks, Darin
gary cubeta Posted Dec 7, 2014 8:19 PM PST
How does the Epson LS10000 look if you use ECO mode and try and save the laser? Is it just a dark mess on a 135 inch screen?
Joe Smith Posted Dec 8, 2014 1:48 PM PST
the 9600 seems way overpriced as the review says. It is excellent but not much different looking than the Sony 55 and even the JVC500, both are much cheaper than the 9600 and the JVC will have 4k eshift on it the LS10000 is the one in the Epson line; I am baffled why they released the 9600; I don't think it will sell very well
JonnyBlaze Posted Jan 2, 2015 12:10 PM PST
The Epson is a reflective laser projector capable of true black like an OLED TV plus it does not require bulbs. It out classes a Sony 55 by a mile.
Alex Posted Jan 5, 2015 12:13 PM PST
IMHO anyone that is interested in one of these babies for their home theater would also want to know the 'price' of the replacement lamp as compared to Sony or other competitors... hopefully the price will auto-adjust (be dynamic) as it drops that way the review content remains as relevant as the 'real-life' cost of ownership.

Just a suggestion of what I am looking for in a review.
Jacob Posted Feb 28, 2015 12:07 AM PST
^^Alex

The cost of the bulb is not present because it is a bulb-less projector. The second section of this review in addition to comments from others have clarified this most explicitly.
John Posted Mar 3, 2015 8:14 PM PST
Okay, there is no bulb... so, is the laser itself replaceable? If you run it in high mode and get only 10k hours out of it... well, bulb-less isn't much of a selling point in that case, if it means you have to replace the whole projector.
Jack Posted Mar 4, 2015 5:33 PM PST
I am impressed with the video the price is a setback. Being the first of its kind,I'm sure the next generations will be cheaper, more featured, brighter and true 4K.

I think I will wait until the price comes down drastically. I think that would be about a year now.
Wayne Posted Jan 1, 2016 6:20 AM PST
Warning - this projector is noisy and noticeably louder than the previous 1080UB that I own and this is in Mid or ECO power mode. Don't even consider running this projector in High mode unless you don't care about projector noise. Reviewers must be listening to this projector with relative high ambient noise conditions. Currently I have hand built a hush box, as I had for the 1080UB to contain the noise. In a 1/2 inch thick wooden frame containing the projector I can still hear it 15 to 20 feet away. Note that I am awaiting arrival of 1 inch thick damping material that has not been installed yet. Not sure why reviewers state that no one should complain about the noise. I am primarily an audiophile and require minimal background noise in a dedicated home theater room located in the basement.
Ryan Posted Apr 8, 2016 12:44 PM PST
Wrong. We the LS9600 hanging in our store...dead silent. You have something wrong with yours.

Post a comment

Commenting on this article is easy and does not require any registration. Your email address is necessary for you to activate your comment once it has been submitted. It will not be shown to other site viewers. ProjectorCentral reserves the right to remove any comment at any time for any reason. Foul language is not permitted, nor are personal attacks. No HTML allowed. All comments should remain on topic.

Name:

Email Address:(used only to confirm your comment)

Your Comment:

(Enter the numbers as they appear to the left)