ProjectorCentral.com
WORLD'S LARGEST
PROJECTOR RESOURCE
Celebrating 20 Years
Top 10 Find a Projector Reviews Throw CalculatorCalc Buyer's Guide Expert Blogs Projector Forums
Share:
Best Home Theater Projector
Performance
5
Features
Ease of Use
Value
Intended Use:
Home Theater
Epson Pro LS9600e Projector Epson Pro LS9600e
(add to Compare List)
Go to My Compare List

Street Price: n/a
Lumens:1300
Weight: 39.7 lbs
Resolution:1920x1080
Aspect Ratio:16:9
Technology:3 LCD
Lens:2.1x powered
Lens Shift:H + V
Lamp Life:30,000 Hrs
30,000 (eco)
Lamp Cost:n/a
Warranty:3 year
Connectors:  Composite, Component, VGA In, HDMI, HDMI (MHL), Network, Wireless Networking, RS232, 12-Volt Trigger
Video Formats:  480i, 480p, 720p, 1080i, 1080p/60, 1080p/24, 1080p/30, 1080p/50, 576i, 576p

Epson Pro Cinema LS9600e
1080p Laser Projector

Bill Livolsi, December 4, 2014

Limitations

White balance memory. The LS9600e can only store one set of grayscale adjustments in working memory. In other words, if you adjust white balance for Cinema and then switch to THX, your RGB adjustments from Cinema mode will still be there. This is an issue, because the adjustments for each mode will be different - sometimes vastly so. To get around this, you should save your settings to one of the projector's ten Memory locations after you've calibrated each mode, and then use those Memory recalls to switch modes rather than the Image Mode menu option.

Input lag. With a minimum lag of 56 milliseconds, it is difficult to use the LS9600e with games that require split-second response times. Examples would include fighting games and some first-person shooters. On the other hand, strategy, puzzle, and other less time-intensive games would perform perfectly well on the LS9600e.

For movies, know that the 108 millisecond lag of the LS9600e will require a corresponding offset in the source audio. This adjustment can be made in many A/V receivers, and some of the higher-end models even do so automatically. Features like Frame Interpolation will increase lag time, so it's a good idea to pick a preferred operating mode, set your audio delay time, and then stick with it.

Chromatic aberration. The LS9600e's lens performs best at the mid-point of its zoom range, and at this position there is no trace of color shift in a pure white test pattern. There is a subtle color shift when using either the maximum wide angle or maximum telephoto positions of the zoom, but only if the lens iris is wide open. Closing the iris by even a few points reduces the effects and brings white balance back to optimum. At iris -8, we saw most of the aberration disappear, and light output was only reduced by 10%.

Previous Page
Performance
Next Page
Competition
Review Contents: Viewing Experience Key Features Performance Limitations
  Competition Conclusion
Comments (11) Post a Comment
gil arroyo Posted Dec 5, 2014 10:47 AM PST
please review the production release of the LS10000.
Darin Posted Dec 5, 2014 11:48 AM PST
It would be interesting to hear how the images from the LS9600e and LS10000 compare to the JVC RS49 (or RS4910). It looks to me like the best street prices on the JVCs are a fair amount lower than either of these Epsons even though the RS49 and RS4910 are more expensive than the Sony HW55.

Thanks, Darin
gary cubeta Posted Dec 7, 2014 8:19 PM PST
How does the Epson LS10000 look if you use ECO mode and try and save the laser? Is it just a dark mess on a 135 inch screen?
Joe Smith Posted Dec 8, 2014 1:48 PM PST
the 9600 seems way overpriced as the review says. It is excellent but not much different looking than the Sony 55 and even the JVC500, both are much cheaper than the 9600 and the JVC will have 4k eshift on it the LS10000 is the one in the Epson line; I am baffled why they released the 9600; I don't think it will sell very well
JonnyBlaze Posted Jan 2, 2015 12:10 PM PST
The Epson is a reflective laser projector capable of true black like an OLED TV plus it does not require bulbs. It out classes a Sony 55 by a mile.
Alex Posted Jan 5, 2015 12:13 PM PST
IMHO anyone that is interested in one of these babies for their home theater would also want to know the 'price' of the replacement lamp as compared to Sony or other competitors... hopefully the price will auto-adjust (be dynamic) as it drops that way the review content remains as relevant as the 'real-life' cost of ownership.

Just a suggestion of what I am looking for in a review.
Jacob Posted Feb 28, 2015 12:07 AM PST
^^Alex

The cost of the bulb is not present because it is a bulb-less projector. The second section of this review in addition to comments from others have clarified this most explicitly.
John Posted Mar 3, 2015 8:14 PM PST
Okay, there is no bulb... so, is the laser itself replaceable? If you run it in high mode and get only 10k hours out of it... well, bulb-less isn't much of a selling point in that case, if it means you have to replace the whole projector.
Jack Posted Mar 4, 2015 5:33 PM PST
I am impressed with the video the price is a setback. Being the first of its kind,I'm sure the next generations will be cheaper, more featured, brighter and true 4K.

I think I will wait until the price comes down drastically. I think that would be about a year now.
Wayne Posted Jan 1, 2016 6:20 AM PST
Warning - this projector is noisy and noticeably louder than the previous 1080UB that I own and this is in Mid or ECO power mode. Don't even consider running this projector in High mode unless you don't care about projector noise. Reviewers must be listening to this projector with relative high ambient noise conditions. Currently I have hand built a hush box, as I had for the 1080UB to contain the noise. In a 1/2 inch thick wooden frame containing the projector I can still hear it 15 to 20 feet away. Note that I am awaiting arrival of 1 inch thick damping material that has not been installed yet. Not sure why reviewers state that no one should complain about the noise. I am primarily an audiophile and require minimal background noise in a dedicated home theater room located in the basement.
Ryan Posted Apr 8, 2016 12:44 PM PST
Wrong. We the LS9600 hanging in our store...dead silent. You have something wrong with yours.

Post a comment

Commenting on this article is easy and does not require any registration. Your email address is necessary for you to activate your comment once it has been submitted. It will not be shown to other site viewers. ProjectorCentral reserves the right to remove any comment at any time for any reason. Foul language is not permitted, nor are personal attacks. No HTML allowed. All comments should remain on topic.

Name:

Email Address:(used only to confirm your comment)

Your Comment:

(Enter the numbers as they appear to the left)