ProjectorCentral.com
WORLD'S LARGEST
PROJECTOR RESOURCE
Celebrating 20 Years
Top 10 Find a Projector Reviews Throw CalculatorCalc Buyer's Guide Expert Blogs Projector Forums
Share:
Review Contents
Highly Recommended Projector
Performance
5
Features
Ease of Use
Value
Intended Use:
Mobile Presentation
LG HX300G Projector LG HX300G
(add to Compare List)
Go to My Compare List

Street Price: n/a
Contrast:2,000:1
Lumens:270
Weight: 1.7 lbs
Resolution:1024x768
Aspect Ratio:4:3
Technology:DLP
Lens Shift:No
Lamp Life:30,000 Hrs
30,000 (eco)
Warranty:2 year
Connectors:  Composite, VGA In, HDMI 1.3, Audio Out, USB
Video Formats:  480i, 480p, 720p, 1080i, 1080p/60

LG HX300G
XGA DLP Microportable Projector

Bill Livolsi, May 5, 2010

Image quality. Beyond features and convenience, a great data projector needs to deliver a great picture. The HX300G does this in spades. Brightness uniformity is such that there are no obvious bright or dim areas of the image, which reduces distraction when viewing plain text documents. There is no noticeable screen door effect, even when sitting very close to the screen; in fact, it can be hard to see the inter-pixel gap at all. In Cinema mode, colors jump off the screen (photography and data graphics are best viewed in this mode). While it lacks the brightness of larger projectors, the HX300G does not suffer in terms of image quality - unless you turn the lights on, of course.

Lamp life. The LED light source is rated at 30,000 hours of life. That's 8 hours of presentation time every day, five days a week, for about 15 years. In practical terms, the light source will long outlive the projector.

Connectivity. For such a small projector, the HX300G has an impressive array of connections. The most notable is the HDMI port, allowing the use of high-quality digital video with no fuss. There's also a standard VGA port for laptop and desktop computers. Composite video and 1/8" audio in and out round out the connection panel. Finally, the projector has a USB port, used for the display of files from USB memory devices.

Onboard speakers. The HX300G has a pair of 1W speakers, giving it true stereo sound. The maximum volume is, as one might expect, rather lackluster, but for small audiences of 5-10 people in a quiet room it will perform well enough. Using maximum volume can cause distortion, but around 70-80% volume the fidelity is maintained.

FM Transmitter. The HX300G has a unique FM radio transmitter, allowing you to "broadcast" sound to any external system with an FM receiver. Range is quite short, and you'll get a lot of static if the receiver's FM antenna is more than about three meters distant, but this is a novel feature that has the potential to revolutionize portable and presentation projectors. If possible, it is still preferable to use a hard-wired connection by running a 1/8" audio cable between the projector/signal source and the external speakers. In cases where this is not possible, though, having the FM transmitter as a backup option is appreciated.

Media player. It is becoming more common to see small projectors with the ability to display video, photo, and data documents from USB flash media without the aid of a computer. In essence, the projector itself becomes the signal source, requiring nothing but a power connection. The HX300G has such a media player onboard. We tested the projector with several file types, including common Microsoft Office documents (that's right, it can display Powerpoint presentations), and the projector was able to display everything we threw at it without a single hitch. Photo slideshows are slower than they would be on a computer, due to the processing power required to load and display large image files, but otherwise we did not encounter any problems. If you are a traveling businessperson who needs to display either image files or Microsoft Office documents, the HX300G will let you do it without a computer at all. That can drastically reduce the amount of gear you have to haul around with you.

Portability. The HX300G is built for mobile presentation, with a compact, lightweight form factor. The case measures a scant 2.4" x 6.3" x 5.3" and the projector itself weighs only 1.7 pounds, not including the power brick. With onboard media player functionality and an included carrying case, in many cases you can simply load your presentation materials on to a USB flash drive and skip the computer entirely.

Audible noise. The HX300G is very quiet despite its relatively high lumen output. At full power, fan noise is audible, but can be easily spoken over without requiring that you raise your voice. Using the reduced power modes correspondingly reduces audible noise, with Low lamp mode dropping audible noise to near imperceptibility.

Previous Page
Advantages
Next Page
Limitations
Review Contents: Advantages Additional Advantages Limitations
Comments (19) Post a Comment
Ryan Posted May 5, 2010 12:32 PM PST
Thanks for the review!

Can you tell us where you purchased/received the HX300G or when it will be sold in the states?

Also, I'd love to see a review of the new Casio XJ-A series of laser-led projectors.
Marcos Augusto Posted May 5, 2010 7:33 PM PST
Thanks for the review Bill; I've been waiting for one since becoming aware of its impending release, right after i bought a LG HS-201 in January. I was and still am so/so very impressed with the performance of my little HS-201 (same as the HS-200, which was reviewed last October) that i decided to buy a HX-300G as soon as it was released. You quoted a figure of 248 lumens output at its brightest level, a figure significantly less than the 300 lumens specified by LG, and i wonder if you could find out what was the lumen output of the HS-200 that was tested by Projector Central, so that we owners and prospective buyers of the HX300G have at least that info to serve as comparison between the units. Do you think the HS-200 specified 200 lumens of output to be somewhat of an exaggeration, just like on the HX300G ? Thanks again....
Brett Posted May 12, 2010 8:02 AM PST
I also would like to know where one can be purchased. Sounds like a great projector with no worry about bulbs. Thanks!
Saied Posted May 13, 2010 1:11 AM PST
Is there any indication of rainbow effect? I understand that LED technology was supposed to eliminate these but some people are still seeing them on LG, Samsung and Casio machines.
Nabi Posted May 16, 2010 5:26 PM PST
Taking an awfully long time to work up to 1080p with the portables, aren't they? I'm already up to my ears in projectors. I guess we are expected to sit still and buy whatever is foisted off, with patience. Trouble is, by the time they finally get to 1080p the public's gonna have better options. The industry's gonna be stuck with geeks who like Edsels. I can tell you that I am almost cured. Their model is wrong: if they had improved resolution more quickly most people I know would be using beamers.Maybe it's time to think about giving this site a more generic name.
Jacob Posted Aug 6, 2010 11:28 AM PST
Can anyone confirm if the media player on this projector can play MKV (720p/1080p) files via a USB attached device?
这个投影机真的很不错!!!! Posted Aug 13, 2010 1:38 AM PST
Google Translation to English: This projector is really very good! ! ! ! Comment Text: LG HX300 looks really good, at least in color, we say good, do not know the available light.

LG HX300看起来真的很不错,至少在色彩上大家都说不错,不知道亮度如何。

黄乾坤

2010-8-13
Fred Posted Sep 1, 2010 10:45 PM PST
It really takes forever for these greedy manufacturers to get to 720p (hopefully 800 lumens too as the Vivitek full HD one),for an affordable price.
sandy Posted Sep 4, 2010 5:59 AM PST
this projector has good review by all the person, but are there any one who is using using it, & how it performs with respect to the lighted room , is it good for viewing movie?....,
nektarios zogkos Posted Oct 17, 2010 5:49 PM PST
fixed focus? What are you talking about. This is really WRONG. Please correct the review it is confusing.
Nic Posted Dec 20, 2010 11:06 AM PST
Does anyone know if this will run off a samsung laptop power brick? (as the acer k11 does)
Cristian Posted Mar 6, 2011 4:26 PM PST
I just bought this, and it's a superb piece of equipment. The design and the features are really extraordinary for the small form factor. The remote is also particularly well designed and featured.
Alex Posted Jun 11, 2011 11:25 AM PST
This projector is a killer of all old-fashion lamp projectors in its class. Plays all formats from attached USB hard drive easilly with no issues at all. I was impressed how smoothly it handles MKV - excellent picture, smooth motion with lots of details. The manual says that it cannot handle 2TB drives on USB - I plugged on the 2TB iomega and it plays from the drive without any problem. The device is light and very compact, lots of useful features, nice colors. Definitely recommed to anyone who needs a nice portable projector
mario santana Posted Jun 17, 2011 2:29 PM PST
Google Translation below: Me parecio maravilloso,su imajen,definicion y colores pero despues de utilzarlo menos de quince horas en momentos distintos,una pelicula hoy,luego otra y asi, en espacios de un mes o menos.Empezo a aparecer en el lado derecho de la pantalla proyectada una serie de puntos o manchas negras,esquina derecha arriba,luego se fue expandiendo hacia abajo apareciendo ademas puntos blancos intermitentes por doquier volviendose un total manchon que cubria cerca de un veinte por ciento de la pntalla y en ahumento, llendose ya al centro de pantalla por lo tanto lo lleve al servicio tecnico.Insatisfaccion total PRODUCTO NUEVO YA REPARANDOSE,DUDAS SOBRE EL FUTURO FUNCIONAMIENTO,POSIBLE REAPARICION DE DICHO PROBLEMA Y EN SINTESIS YA FALTA DE CONFIANZA EN EL PRODUCTO Y MARCA.EN FIN, ESA HA SIDO MI EXPERIENCIA, CON LA COMPRA Y UTILIZACION DE MI VIDEOPROYECTOR MARCA LG,MODELO HX300G,NUMERO DE SERIE NO LO COLOCO PORQUE ESTA EN EL TALLER CON SU EMPAQUE,ESPERO NO TENGAN TAN FRUSTRANTE EXPERIENCIA.......M.

I thought it was wonderful, the Imaje, definition and color utilza but after less than fifteen hours at different times, a film today, then another and so, in about a month or menos.Empezo to appear on the right side of the projected screen a series of dots or black spots, top right corner, then was expanded down also appeared white dots flashing everywhere Manchon becoming a total which covered nearly twenty percent of the pntalla and ahumento, llendose and screen center therefore serve to drive total tecnico.Insatisfaccion

NEW PRODUCT AND RECONSTRUCTIVE OPERATION doubts about the future, possible recurrence of the problem AND SYNTHESIS AND LACK OF CONFIDENCE IN THE PRODUCT AND marca.es FIN, ESA HAS BEEN MY EXPERIENCE WITH THE PURCHASE AND USE OF MY VIDEOPROJECTOR LG BRAND, MODEL HX300G, SERIAL NUMBER IS NOT IN PLACE BECAUSE THE WORKSHOP TO YOUR PACKAGE, SO I HOPE THEY HAVE NO EXPERIENCE ....... FRUSTRATING... M.
Fitz Posted Oct 2, 2011 3:30 PM PST
Ok, after the sticker-shock I finally asked the LG dealer for a demo. I was surprised by the brightness of the advertised 300 lumens. It really is bright. not the strength of a bulb but well exceeded my expectations. So I bought it. (funny, the dealer brought up this website to give me the specs)

I bought this to be a portable video player so I cannot really speak of the professional uses of document viewing. I fired it up at home and plugged up an external HDD to the USB slot.

Menus are better than average. only hits I have on the menu system is that the "Back" button brings you all the way out of every menu to the beginning (instead of to the previous item or menu) The next track >>] button on the remote is actually a Fast Forward >> button when playing. the arrows provide +/- 4 minute jump function. and when you scroll through a video list in the menu, the device wants to spin up a preview of the video highlighted. neat trick, but it slows you down a bit as it generates the preview in the little window.

Sound from the built in speaker.. well.. bites. but if you were expecting better then you don't know projectors very well. but the sound processing for external audio is top notch stereo sound.

There are playback limitations with regards to certain file types. Xvid, DIVX, MP4 (even 1080p from my HeroHD) and most MPEG-2 are playable in the built in media player. MPG2, MP42, MJPG and WMV's are absolute no-go's. they will NOT play. if you have these video types, consider an outside player.

I hope there will be a firmware/software update.. If there is.. LG.. do me a favor, in video playback mode you have 3 size settings.. "16:9" "Full" (4:3) and "Original" you need only add 1 more setting. "Fit". Videos come in all shapes and sizes which are not all 16:9 or 4:3 or have a width relating to the 1024 pixel resolution.. but a "Fit" function would round off all viewing modes as it would zoom the video to the height or width extents of the screen without distorting images to short and fat or tall and skinny.

The FM output brings me back to the Simulcast days but was quite useful when I pumped out the audio to my Zune via radio.. I also want to try it Drive-In style with my car stereo. "Fixed Focus" in the above review is misleading, there is a simple focus dial just above the lens. I think what they mean is a fixed Aspect lens. Some projectors, like my Sharp XR-1X, have an aspect lens which allows you to re-size your projected image without moving your projector closer of further from the screen. Much like a zoom lens.

I use my 300G in my bedroom. Just some numbers for you. with a 370cm (12ft) projection distance, I get a 4:3 display size of 245cm (8ft) wide by 185cm (6ft) tall image. so that is a 300cm (118in) 4:3 screen from a box the size of 3 soda cans. (take that flat-screeners)

There is a flaw in the design though (depending on your use of this projector) The IR receiver on the device which receives the signals from the remote is on the Back of the device. This is annoying if you are using the device to play movies as the device is usually behind you. reception of your remote control commands is often flakey. my cure was to stick a CD on the wall behind the device to reflect the IR into the rear of the projector.

A super PLUS about the build though. the second day I had this projector, there was an Idiot vs. Headphone cable incident which yanked my brand new projector from its 5ft high perch straight for the thin carpeted floor. it landed lens first then my external HDD landed on top of it. I thought it was a goner. I put it back up on the shelf, reconnected the cables and turned it back on.. it was like it never fell. Awesome!!

Oh, and don't believe what they say about the 300G being simply quiet. If you have other projectors.. you will not believe the thing is even on!! it's Damn quiet!! ;p
Fitz Posted Oct 2, 2011 3:31 PM PST
Ok, after the sticker-shock I finally asked the LG dealer for a demo. I was surprised by the brightness of the advertised 300 lumens. It really is bright. not the strength of a bulb but well exceeded my expectations. So I bought it. (funny, the dealer brought up this website to give me the specs)

I bought this to be a portable video player so I cannot really speak of the professional uses of document viewing. I fired it up at home and plugged up an external HDD to the USB slot.

Menus are better than average. only hits I have on the menu system is that the "Back" button brings you all the way out of every menu to the beginning (instead of to the previous item or menu) The next track button on the remote is actually a Fast Forward button when playing. the arrows provide +/- 4 minute jump function. and when you scroll through a video list in the menu, the device wants to spin up a preview of the video highlighted. neat trick, but it slows you down a bit as it generates the preview in the little window.

Sound from the built in speaker.. well.. bites. but if you were expecting better then you don't know projectors very well. but the sound processing for external audio is top notch stereo sound.

There are playback limitations with regards to certain file types. Xvid, DIVX, MP4 (even 1080p from my HeroHD) and most MPEG-2 are playable in the built in media player. MPG2, MP42, MJPG and WMV's are absolute no-go's. they will NOT play. if you have these video types, consider an outside player.

I hope there will be a firmware/software update.. If there is.. LG.. do me a favor, in video playback mode you have 3 size settings.. "16:9" "Full" (4:3) and "Original" you need only add 1 more setting. "Fit". Videos come in all shapes and sizes which are not all 16:9 or 4:3 or have a width relating to the 1024 pixel resolution.. but a "Fit" function would round off all viewing modes as it would zoom the video to the height or width extents of the screen without distorting images to short and fat or tall and skinny.

The FM output brings me back to the Simulcast days but was quite useful when I pumped out the audio to my Zune via radio.. I also want to try it Drive-In style with my car stereo. "Fixed Focus" in the above review is misleading, there is a simple focus dial just above the lens. I think what they mean is a fixed Aspect lens. Some projectors, like my Sharp XR-1X, have an aspect lens which allows you to re-size your projected image without moving your projector closer of further from the screen. Much like a zoom lens.

I use my 300G in my bedroom. Just some numbers for you. with a 370cm (12ft) projection distance, I get a 4:3 display size of 245cm (8ft) wide by 185cm (6ft) tall image. so that is a 300cm (118in) 4:3 screen from a box the size of 3 soda cans. (take that flat-screeners)

There is a flaw in the design though (depending on your use of this projector) The IR receiver on the device which receives the signals from the remote is on the Back of the device. This is annoying if you are using the device to play movies as the device is usually behind you. reception of your remote control commands is often flakey. my cure was to stick a CD on the wall behind the device to reflect the IR into the rear of the projector.

A super PLUS about the build though. the second day I had this projector, there was an Idiot vs. Headphone cable incident which yanked my brand new projector from its 5ft high perch straight for the thin carpeted floor. it landed lens first then my external HDD landed on top of it. I thought it was a goner. I put it back up on the shelf, reconnected the cables and turned it back on.. it was like it never fell. Awesome!!

Oh, and don't believe what they say about the 300G being simply quiet. If you have other projectors.. you will not believe the thing is even on!! it's Damn quiet!! ;p
mohamed monem Posted Nov 20, 2011 4:53 AM PST
yes it can play mkv files but in some files audio codec dont excute so video run without sound but that in few cases
Roden Posted Apr 2, 2012 7:03 AM PST
I bought this LG for HT use. I am a first timer with projectors not knowing that brightness and contrast plays a lot when one needs to use it for HT viewing for our modest living area with lots of ambient light. I jumped on it for its portability, lens life and price. I have been delighted so far with the performance. Since then I have been doing reading about HT projectors. I am planning to buy a legitimate one, probably an Epson but in the meantime, I would like to enjoy this portable use anywhere machine.
reap Posted Apr 24, 2012 6:28 AM PST
can the projector loop videos?

Post a comment

Commenting on this article is easy and does not require any registration. Your email address is necessary for you to activate your comment once it has been submitted. It will not be shown to other site viewers. ProjectorCentral reserves the right to remove any comment at any time for any reason. Foul language is not permitted, nor are personal attacks. No HTML allowed. All comments should remain on topic.

Name:

Email Address:(used only to confirm your comment)

Your Comment:

(Enter the numbers as they appear to the left)