ProjectorCentral.com
WORLD'S LARGEST
PROJECTOR RESOURCE
Celebrating 20 Years
Top 10 Find a Projector Reviews Throw CalculatorCalc Buyer's Guide Expert Blogs Projector Forums
Share:
Review Contents
Best Home Theater Projector
Performance
4
Features
Ease of Use
Value
Intended Use:
DIY Home Theater
Optoma HD20 Projector Optoma HD20
(add to Compare List)
Go to My Compare List

Street Price: n/a
Contrast:4,000:1
Lumens:1700
Weight: 6.4 lbs
Resolution:1920x1080
Aspect Ratio:16:9
Technology:DLP
Color Wheel:4x speed
Color Wheel:6 segments
Lens:1.2x manual
Lens Shift:No
Lamp Life:3,000 Hrs
4,000 (eco)
Lamp Cost:$249.00
Warranty:1 year
Connectors:  Composite, Component, VGA In, HDMI (x2), USB, 12-Volt Trigger
Video Formats:  480i, 480p, 720p, 1080i, 1080p/60

Optoma HD20
Home Theater Projector Review

Bill Livolsi, August 28, 2009

Limitations

Black level. Black level on the HD20 is only middling, as the projector lacks an auto-iris and has a fairly bright lamp. As a result, black areas of an image can sometimes appear very dark grayish. This is especially evident in a dark room, as the total absence of ambient light makes the lightened black levels of the HD20 a bit more apparent. On/off contrast on our test sample measured 1179:1. An auto iris would boost this ratio significantly. However, for 1080p under $1,000, some compromises have to be made. The bottom line is that this projector probably will not satisfy the true videophile looking for the best possible performance. But for the large majority of consumers who just want a great picture for the money, the HD20 is a great solution.

ImageAI. Instead of an iris, the HD20 has ImageAI. This feature cycles the lamp power in response to the content on screen, making it brighter when showing a bright scene and darker when showing a shadowy scene. The problem is that ImageAI is very slow when compared to an auto-iris, which limits its usefulness for any sort of fast-moving content like HD movies. Where auto iris response time is measured in milliseconds, ImageAI on the HD20 can take seconds to adjust, which can be distracting. Picture this: you are watching a movie, and the characters are inside a dimly-lit warehouse. The characters go outside. After a few seconds, ImageAI adjusts to the new light level, and the picture suddenly gets brighter and the projector gets louder. Sometimes, by the time this cycle happens, the content is vastly different from the scene that prompted the adjustment. This is especially evident in scenes which switch rapidly back and forth from light to darkness, such as a police interrogation with bright spotlights opposed to dark shadows. Since we found ImageAI to be a distraction, we preferred to operate the HD20 with this feature disabled.

Placement flexibility. The HD20 has a 1.2:1 manual zoom lens with a fixed throw angle. This makes it convenient for ceiling mounting, although many users who want to spend only $999 on a projector will not want to spend extra dollars on a ceiling mount and long run video cables. A coffee table mount would also work well, if you live in a house where no one will fiddle with the projector in-between showings. The 1.2:1 zoom lens can display a 100" diagonal image from 10' 11" to 13' 1", which gives you a little bit of leeway in mounting, but still requires that you do some preliminary planning before making a purchase.

Since the projector has a fixed throw angle, you will also need to plan for the offset built into the lensing; this offset will dictate your screen's position relative to the projector. The HD20 has a throw angle offset of 15%, meaning that the bottom edge of the projected image will appear 15% of the image's height above the centerline of the lens (or 15% below the centerline if ceiling mounted). For example, with a 100" diagonal image, the bottom edge will appear 7.3" above the lens's centerline.

Rainbow Effect. The HD20 has a 6-segment, 4x-speed color wheel, with RGBRGB segments. The 4x refresh rate is a sufficient speed to minimize or even eliminate rainbow artifacts for most viewers. However, the more expensive DLP home theater products use 5x and 6x wheels to reduce the occurrence of rainbows even further. For the price of $999, one can be happy that the projector has a 4x wheel instead of the standard 2x found in most inexpensive DLP projectors. Nevertheless, some users will notice rainbows on occasion. The only way for you to know whether the level of rainbow artifacting on a 4x wheel will be a distraction for you is to audition a model with this wheel configuration and see for yourself.

Image sharpness. The HD20's image sharpness is very good, but it does not quite match the sharpness of higher priced 1080p models. Viewing it standing alone, the picture looks natural, impressive, and quite acceptably sharp. Few casual observers would complain of any deficiency in image resolution. However, when the HD20 is set up side-by-side with higher performance 1080p projectors, a difference becomes apparent. It is not quite as sharp in comparison.

Remote control. The remote control has a strong blue LED backlight, which can make it difficult to look at once your eyes have adjusted to darkness. The buttons have small pictograms on them to represent their functions, with text labels across the top. The problem is, these text labels don't light up, making it impossible to read them in the dark - and sometimes the pictograms are less than helpful. Once you get used to where the buttons are, the remote is functional. But we've seen a lot of remotes we like better.

One-year warranty. The HD20 has a one-year warranty which also extends 90 days of coverage to the lamp. This is not surprising for a 1080p model at this price. But many of the more expensive 1080p models come with two-year or three-year warranties.

Conclusion

The HD20 brings 1080p projection to its lowest price point yet, while maintaining great image quality that's ideal for home entertainment. While it does not have the inky black levels and extreme placement flexibility of more costly projectors, it does have a clear, bright, noise-free image with vibrant color and good dynamic range. For some viewers, its 4x-speed color wheel is more likely to induce an occasional rainbow than DLP projectors with faster wheels, but it is head and shoulders above the standard 2x wheel designs, and quite acceptable for the money.

We are thrilled with the HD20's picture quality for the price, and have no problem awarding it 5 stars for Value in this review. As you'd expect, a few corners have been cut to get the price down under $1000. But the Optoma HD20 gives the entry level home theater buyer a bright, high resolution 1080p picture without much impact on the wallet. If you are in this budget range, the HD20 is a solid choice.

Previous Page
Advantages
Review Contents: Advantages Limitations
Comments (66) Post a Comment
ProjectorBoy Posted Aug 28, 2009 10:34 PM PST
Thanks,I was looking forward to this review. Can you comment on the black levels of the HD20 compared to the Mits. HD1000? I'm thinking of upgrading from the HD1000. Thanks.
Heinz Posted Aug 30, 2009 8:03 AM PST
Thanks for the thorough review. How would this projector compare to the HD65 besides the 720p limitation?
Steve Bennett Posted Aug 31, 2009 8:45 AM PST
Just replaced my NEC lt260k with the hd20. I have a dark room with an 8' screen. I am totally impressed with the picture and the bright colors. I have a 40 inch lcd tv right next to the screen for secondary viewing. I now view the hd20 as a superior picture to the lcd tv .I primarily view sports and the kids use playstation3, but the movies look great also. I did turn the brightness down a bit which made for better viewing.
BBoland Posted Sep 5, 2009 3:12 PM PST
Calling the one-year warranty on the HD-20 "not surprising" for such an inexpensive projector is generous, maybe even evasive; I might call the warranty "unethical".

Optoma has had a standard two-year warranty on all its projectors up to this one. I purchased the HD-72 three years ago, also promoted as a new price low for a projector of its power. 3 breakdowns later(2 in warranty and 1 out), I find that it is not economical to have the unit fixed out of warranty when I can buy a new one for only three-hundred more dollars.

This projector may produce good 1080p for its price range, but the warranty reflects optoma's confidence in this projector's longevity. BEWARE. I recommend a quality projector with at least a three-year warranty, and this advice to the home-theatre rookie: The prices are down, but the home theatre game is still more expensive than you may want to believe.
SurroundManiak Posted Sep 8, 2009 3:03 AM PST
What about the capability of displaying future 3D movies from Blu-Ray with active shutter glasses? Will it possible with this projector?
Rick Densmore Posted Sep 8, 2009 9:09 AM PST
Steve Bennett - I have an NEC LT240K with a similar setup to yours and was interested in the HD20. Can you please email me so I can discuss some of the differences between the NEC's and the Optoma with you? Thanks. rick.densmore@gmail.com
da Schnook Posted Sep 8, 2009 1:32 PM PST
I currently use a an Optoma H31, will this slip into my set-up with out changes? Will I have to make a new a screen to compansate?
Nabi Posted Sep 16, 2009 2:29 PM PST
Yep--I agree with BBoland: the warranties represent the confidence or commitment of the manufacturer. The expected bulb lives are also way exaggerated. When 3000 or so hours is suggested, expect maybe 800 with diminishing accuracy. I love the idea of projectors; they take you back to the movie house concept. Great on atmosphere; gives you an excuse for sitting on a couch with a woman or two in the dark--for some of you, this might be worth the investment in bulbs. But, since the industry has been so slow with the bulbs, I'm wondering if they won't soon be beaten out technically by a supersize lcd/led screen, bearing in mind that superior technology can be presented as an aphrodaisiac in its own right. Maybe, like that spy, me and my pals are gonna have to come in from the dark. Or maybe we will still be able to turn the lights out.
Roderick Posted Sep 30, 2009 7:55 AM PST
I have a 150" screen and I would like to know if the HD20 will do a great job wit picture quality in that size of screen. My room is completely dark!!!
HR '_' Posted Oct 5, 2009 11:39 PM PST
I had an Optoma H31 and before selling it, its bulb lasted me 2 and a half years. Which was around its life expectancy of 2000 hrs. So I completely disagree with what <b>Nabi</b> said.

I believe its how you use the projector and how you take care of it. I believe I read in the manual not to overuse a projector over 6 hrs and thats just what i did, since it only makes sense by overusing a bulb will definitely shorten its lifespan.

Also keeping my projector clean and dusted in a cool dry room kept it well maintained.

Just adding my 2 cents for those people thinking of getting a projector.
Evan Posted Oct 7, 2009 4:06 PM PST
I have an HD070 (720p) that I bought in clearance sale at BestBuy a few years ago and am pretty happy with it. But now that my blu-ray collection is starting to grow, I'm wondering if it would be worth upgrading to a 1080p projector? My projector is 10ft from the screen which is 84" diagonal (my room is small only 11x12 ft) any thoughts those of you who have tried the HD20? Thanks!
Donna Posted Oct 8, 2009 12:02 PM PST
I have a PTAx200U Panasonic. Bulb went bad after 85 hours. We need a backup. How does the Optima HD20 1080 p compare to the ptax200u 720p? We use it for "Outdoor" backyard movies?
Ron Posted Oct 16, 2009 3:47 AM PST
Currently own infocus sp4805 projector, and want to move up to hd, originally, had picked mits hc3800, but the offset won't work in my family room. What is your opinion about the optoma hd20, how much of a difference will I see, will it be a WOW factor. or should I wait for your review of the benq w1000 when it comes out. Look foward to your response. Thank you
SaintWoody Posted Dec 10, 2009 12:52 AM PST
I have a Infocus 4805 right now and I am going to upgrade to a 1080p projector, which one is the better one HD20 or the Vivitek H1080FD? Or would either one be worth getting? Also I built my first screen and was thinking about buying a new one any opinions on the Aosom screens?
Mark Posted Jan 2, 2010 4:00 AM PST
I now use a Pan. PT AX-200, and it works fine for me. But the bulp is nog 1000 hours old, so I am planning to swap it to a new projector (1080P this time ofc.) My throw distance is 3.00 meters and my screen is a Beamax 220 x 130 cm. (16:9 breedbeeld) High Contrast. Can somebody tell me if i can fill my screen, or not? I can not increase my trow distance. thanks in advance and have a great 2010!
Sannu Posted Jan 14, 2010 2:48 PM PST
HI have the HD20 as a test model and soon when it comes back from my client I will but it up for testing in show room. So war I have trie it once in frineds house with daytime light and picture is ok for 1700 lumens. Waching move wont give any buterflys but its the same when waching LCD TV in the same conditions. To SurroundManiak Optoma itself confirmas that at the moment they are working on the solution to bring 3D effect to this projector. Its not confirmed but at the end of march they would like to come out with firmware update to 3D. If there are any specific test someone would like to know about then just let me know and I will test it. Just write what you would like to know to me sander@topviso.ee
vismantas Posted Feb 22, 2010 3:17 AM PST
i have HD20 ,using about 2 months. good picture quality and etc...need some picture adjustmens befor use to get good colors and brightness. only one minus is that it needs totaly dark room. so i use it only at night.and a bit load at bright mode. totaly worht the money!!!
Shawn Posted Apr 7, 2010 6:15 PM PST
Was this review done on a production unit? Can you test again? Optoma is telling me the new HD20 I just got from them with the latest firmware, has a defect they claim is normal and they have no plans to fix it. The issue is that the bottom 3-4 rows of pixels have a HUGE frame delay! So when vertical objects move left and right in a movie or on your computer screen like dragging a windows, it looks like the bottom of the image is smearing. I shouldn't have to crop the bottom of my image off just because Optoma doesn't want to fix this defect. I was just wondering if your reviewed unit had this issue. As everyone else I have spoken too with the current HD20 seems to have this issue. I will make a video as soon as it comes back from Optoma repair unfixed.
rad Posted Apr 18, 2010 5:11 AM PST
Could some one post a good settings to enhance this HD20 performance more than out of the box picture quality... Thanks and much appreciated :)
bACHE Posted May 18, 2010 4:42 AM PST
Hello! I have just bought my Optoma HD20. I can allso confirm that my projector has this 2-4 rows of pixels that have a some frame delay. This is only bugging me when I watch movies on 16:9 mode. Is there anything that we can d about this bug?
theboysimon Posted Jun 20, 2010 12:07 PM PST
i have a optoma hd20 is it possible to become 3d
Melissa Holt Posted Jun 21, 2010 10:02 PM PST
I've had the Optoma HD20 for 6 months. Have been very happy with it. Have had projectors for years and buy a new one every 2 years. For some reason, my bulb just crapped out on me after just 6 months, only 600 hours. Not sure what happened. I'm interested in the 3-D firmware update. Not sure where to look for such a thing. Any suggestions?
ali Posted Jun 22, 2010 1:36 PM PST
after all of this is it worth to buy ????
Kimamo Posted Jun 23, 2010 9:00 PM PST
I have had HD20 for the last 3months, all over sudden none of the HDMI ports have signal but VGA or Composite ports have? Same thing happened with a friends HD20 in less than 2months of getting it. Any one knows what happening or had the same problem?
alan b Posted Jul 10, 2010 9:27 PM PST
I recently purchased the HD 20 at best buy for 1150. this seemed 150 more than what is asked through most on lite sites but I wanted to buy from a retail store. I purchased a $300 4 year warranty..it covers one buld replacement..given they are 250 bucks themselves, I dont feel too bad now about buying it.

Couple questions??

1 Any idea why 150 more at best buy..it used to be 999..is this an upgraded model. its still an HD 20

2 any chance their will be some type of 3D upgrade? I assume not but saw it posted in another post

3 Screen recommendations..We're looking for 100 to 120 inch screen. im looking to spend somewhere in the 200 to 400 range..more if it really matters.

white or grey..low gain or high gain? want to use in my basement.. just a couple 1 by 3 windows along the top of the foundation..gets some limited light during the day..but can make it a cave pretty easily..most interested in watching big screen sports and some movies.

I have been overall very impressed. watched a direct tv movie on demand in 1080P ansd it looked great..the normal feed in 720 from direct tv for most of their programmign was still vbery good but the 1080P movies and I assume blue rays etc should look even better: cant beat the price

Thanks in advance

alan
Wade Posted Jul 21, 2010 10:25 AM PST
I wondered if Bill or someone else could help me. I bought the HD20 and wondered if the projection calculator puts the projector at a distance for best picture. Does this distance allow for maximum adjutment for picture size/screen size tweeking? My screen has a 120 diag. and is 6:9 aspect ratio. I got 14'3" inches for the projector. The only problem is that the projector will be in front of the veiwing distance. Will this cause a fan noise issue and will I be able to use the remote from the seating area? Thanks for any comments. Wade
Mike Posted Aug 13, 2010 9:48 PM PST
Wade, For maximum adjustment on 120" screen (middle of zoom) you want the distance from lens to screen 14'-4". Keep in mind the depth of the pj is 9.25", lens to back, and allow for cabling.

The minimum throw distance (lens to screen) is 13'-1" for 120" screen. With this pj you don't have a lot of zoom so don't cut it too close. I would shoot for 13'-6" or so. Don't worry about the fan you won't hear it on econo mode. Enjoy.
dan Posted Sep 22, 2010 9:20 AM PST
I also bought my HD20 at best buy and they matched the online price of 999usd = 1020ca
Chaitanya Posted Nov 8, 2010 3:13 AM PST
Hello All, Quick Question I've on HDMI Input of this HD20 Projector,

Just Wondering How HDMI VIEDO and AUDIO outputs are given to this Projector..

I've a DTH TV Connection in India which has the HDMI Output, I can give this as an input to the HD20 but in which case only VIDEO get's transmitted! How will I key in the AUDIO to my speakers! because the HDMI cable combines both VIEDO and AUDIO,

Further there is no AUDIO-OUT in the HD20 Projector for if i try to take the Audio-out from the projector to the Speakers!! Please help me with this,

Thanks, Chaitanya.
Srikanth Posted Nov 16, 2010 9:59 PM PST
@Chaitanya: You can't connect audio to the projector. If you are using an HDMI 1.4 cable, using which you want to output both audio and video, you need to have an AV receiver. You have good options with brands like Yamaha & Onkyo. You can connect your HDMI out from DTH to receiver and run another HDMI cable from receiver to the projector. The receiver will play the audio, if you have speakers connected to it. It's a an expensive solution but works wonders.
matt man Posted Dec 21, 2010 9:34 AM PST
I just purchased the optoma hd20 online. The website is telling me it comes with a 200w bulb, but are offering a 500w or 1000w bulb at a lower than normal price. Will the 200w bulb give a good quality picture and last a decent amount of time or should I purchase a higher watt bulb? Please help I know nothing about projectors!
daniel Acevedo Posted Jan 29, 2011 7:02 PM PST
i just purchased mine for 650 new and its great!!! wish it had audio though
john Dwyer Posted Jan 29, 2011 9:34 PM PST
Hi all what i need to no wy dose the HD20 freeze time to time you can not turn it of or do any thing with it and till you pull the plug out and restart it not good for the lamp try to look for an up date for it and dont seen to have one . its seem a no no to go from a dvd player to a tv like all the time it freeze so please some one out there must no some thing get back to me johnkdw@hotmail.com
Mikey Posted Feb 15, 2011 3:50 AM PST
Hi there, i Have the cheaper version of the HD20, the HD200x, bought it as a second hand on eBay last year with only 78 hours on it. Well, that's what the seller claimed in his add. It was after I bought it I realized that you can actually reset the lamp hour meter at anytime you want. But anyway, last week kind of a rainbow stain appeared in top right corner of the screen, is there the whole time and is very visible and annoying especially when the screen goes to a white colour.does anyone know what that is?? Or does it mean my lamplife is running to it's end?? the lamp meter is telling me that there is 615 hours in total.. I'd really appreciate any help..thank you, My email Is RoztocilMichal@seznam.Cz
praveen Posted Feb 23, 2011 11:35 PM PST
i am using optma hd 20 very good it has been used for 20 Hrs . Now when i am switchig the power is coming but light focus is not apperaing can any one give suggestions to me
Dana Posted Apr 19, 2011 1:58 PM PST
The review mentioned this projector has low fan noise. That is completely false. I have to keep the speakers on mid-high or the fan drives me nuts. This project is LOUD.

Aside from that, love the image, great pic for the money.
will Posted May 6, 2011 5:52 PM PST
From what I have researched,the hd20 would have to be 120 mghz and 1.4 hdmi to even be able to accept a firm ware update to make it 3d.So if you were able to ramp this projctor up,how long would it last and will the optoma 3D xl convert this to 3d?WHY DOESENT OPTOMA GIVE MORE INFO ON THERE WEBSITE!
Matthew Hallal Posted May 8, 2011 12:11 PM PST
where did you find one for $650!?
marcelo Posted May 20, 2011 10:32 AM PST
your projector must be on high height because there are few air. change the configuration to normal. sorry for my horrible english i´m from Brazil.
Gailsey Posted Jul 9, 2011 5:35 PM PST
Just bought the HD20 at amazon.ca for $799.00 + tax. Heard it was a great budget projector. Old Home10 projector lamp quit and places wanted $350.00 to replace. No brainer, buy this projector, yep!
Jamie Posted Jul 18, 2011 11:35 AM PST
My HD20 is a year and 4 months old and has appox 2550 hours on original bulb. Just recently while watching blu ray movies thru my PS3 after 15-30 min the picture quality drops out. The colors change drastically, kind of a polarizing effect. If I turn the projector off it runs the cooling fan and when I try to turn back on will run the cooling fan again and return to standby. When I turn it back on again it will start and run normally but again after a short period of time watching the movie the colors will distort again. I have occasionally noticed the discoloration while watching cable and just running the PS3. Also, I had a horizontal flickering line that would come and go that started not long after I started using the projector that hasn't been as much of a factor lately. Unsure if related but curious about both issues. This is my first projector and I know little to nothing about them. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!
Manuel Posted Aug 6, 2011 1:02 PM PST
Absolutely love this projector! Just got it after the price drop.

uTube reference deleted...

Highly recommend it guys, its awesome
bose lifestyle t20 Posted Aug 18, 2011 11:55 PM PST
Nice information, valuable and excellent design, as share good stuff with good ideas and concepts, lots of great information and inspiration, both of which we all need, thanks for all the enthusiasm to offer such helpful information here.
Tony Posted Aug 21, 2011 5:47 PM PST
Hey! I got the same problems as you!! Did you fix it? Did you have warranty?

This is also my first projector and it was working fine, then one day the colours get washed out - flckering diferent colours like a a glow effect! If i turn the projector off for a bit and turn it back on its fine until 20 mins give or take and then problem returns. I have 1500hrs on the lamp - apparently the lamps last for 4000 hours and have the lamp reminder turned on but nothing to say its the bulbs! . This is my first projector to! I have looked after and annoyed! It cost alot but fortunately i took out a warranty on it..I might post a youtube video to show what im talking about
Jamie Posted Aug 28, 2011 10:13 AM PST
Yes I did fix mine. Factory warranty ends at 1 yr but I didn't need to send it in. All it was was dust accumulation inside the unit. I took it apart (which does void any existing warranty fyi) and used a can of compressed air and cleaned the color wheel by hand with and cotton swab and water. Works like new again. Dust is a very common problem for projectors and a pretty easy do it yourself fix. Hope this was helpful.
Paul Posted Sep 12, 2011 7:15 AM PST
I purchased the HD20 and have had it six months. I like the picture quality however fan is a bit loud. Combined with a Blue Ray player the picture can't be beat. The only concern at this point is when you turn the projector off the cooling down fan only stays on for 15 seconds not 60 like manual says.
Rebecca Posted Nov 27, 2011 8:14 PM PST
Hello to Anyone,

I just don't understand how to get audio when I use an HDMI cable. Everything's great with the other connections (composite, component). Someone above mentioned an AV box --- what??? Isn't there just a cable that splits audio off from the HDMI?

Is there an easy way to do this?

Thanks, Rebecca
Gary Posted Dec 21, 2011 3:35 PM PST
Rebecca, if by "easy" you mean "buy a home theater in a box system," then yes. Unfortunately, I don't believe there's a simple (say, cable-only) way to split audio since the audio and video signals are intermixed on the cable. Or here's a relatively inexpensive device that would do the splitting job:

http://www.octavainc.com/HDMI%201x1%20Audio%20Converter.html
russell clarke Posted Dec 27, 2011 5:39 AM PST
hi i own a hd200x which is six months old and i have vertical lines right across the screen it only has about 30 hrs use could anyone help please
Schryvers Posted Jan 31, 2012 12:19 AM PST
I have the same problem as Russell. I have to tap it to remove the lines. Someone knows what is the problem ?
Snatcher Posted Mar 30, 2012 11:47 AM PST
I'm sure you figured it out by now..But the only way to get sound thru your HDMI cable, is to run thru a Home Theater Receiver first then to your projector..I have the HD20 and my setup is first run HDMI cable from cable box to HTR(Home Theater Receiver).Next I ran my Blu Ray Player HDMI to my HTR. Then I ran HDMI cable out from HTR to HD20. It's the only way to do it I believe. Most HTR's have at-least 3 HDMI in and 1 HDMI out. Snatcher out...
Snatcher Posted Mar 30, 2012 12:00 PM PST
Hey Jamie, no need to turn off projector..Just hit the re sync button on your project remote should clear up the problem each time it happens. It's just loosing sync with your other equipment.
Snatcher Posted Mar 30, 2012 12:41 PM PST
I got 3645 hrs of view from my lamp..Which i just replace when the warning to change lamp came on last week. I replaced it with the exact number and serial lamp and hope to get the same from it. I watch on eco mode and could have gotten closer to the projected 4000 hrs..will just use it for a backup to a backup.lol Also no need to pay the 2oo+ for a new lamp you can replace just the bulb for under $80 usd.It only requires removing 5 screws and the two connectors.
Dev Posted Apr 4, 2012 3:56 AM PST
Hi, I am rookie to the projector world and looking to buy my first projector. My primary requirements from projector is for watching Full HD movies and sports content in 1080P resoution. While I have been following comments and reviews on projectorcentral but have not been able to make up my mind on a projector in a Sub $1300 range(running on a budget!).

Some of basic requirments from projector that I was able to define are: 1.) Max. available throw distance of 10' 2.) Image size between 120"-150" 3.) Low ambient light in the room 4.) Low fan noise as the projector will be placed on the table top in front. 5.) Warranty of 3 years 6.) Delivery and after sales service in India 7.) Lamp life of > 2500 hrs and withing $150 on replacement.

Please suggest some projectors, which meet the above criteria.

Thanks in advance
jrod Posted Aug 5, 2012 11:01 AM PST
I just got about 6500hrs out of the stock lamp in mine. purchased 2-3yrs ago.
murray Posted Sep 3, 2012 7:48 AM PST
had no problems with this projector for 3yrs until today. Can anyone out there help, the powerlight goes to flashing amber when switched on instead of green and there is no fan noise or light from the unit? there are no other fault ligts lit can someone suggest a fix?? other than that well worth the money!!
Kunwar Singh Posted Sep 5, 2012 9:57 AM PST
Kindly make me know that which projector did you buy, Mr. Dev.

I have the same requirement as yours
Nickels Posted Sep 24, 2012 12:14 PM PST
FYI - this projector can be converted to a 3D projector. You just need a product called VIP Displayer or VIP Theater. The former is more for gaming/Blu-rays and the latter is more for watching movies or TV shows. To tell them apart look at what formats are supported. The more expensive theater model supports more 3D formats like t/b and s-b-s. At 60hz there may be some flickering, but at least you get active 3d with this projector! I have not tested it but you can find youtube videos of these products converting non-3d devices to 3D.
illegal_smile Posted Sep 10, 2013 4:17 PM PST
I bought this PJ 2 - 2.5 years ago and am still in love. Just replaced bulb for the first time at aprox 3800 hrs (it did explode, was not cool) Ebay has the bulbs you need,,,,got mine delivered for $116 cad.

I recommend this projector highly if you are on a budget but still want something good. My main uses are gaming and surfing.
mike Posted Nov 24, 2013 5:22 PM PST
hi everyone, i just replaced my hd20 light bulb but after trying to power on the light indicators the red stays on and the orange one keeps flashing on/off and then after 1min goes off and the bulb never turns on. any help with this pls.... i double checked the power plug and they look ok and connected.
jose Posted Dec 31, 2013 3:36 PM PST
i have the same problem did you solve yours , how ?
matt Posted Feb 25, 2014 11:54 AM PST
will the optoma hd20 lv work with the 3d xl converter
mikem Posted Mar 4, 2014 4:35 PM PST
i bght a hd20 on ebay seller claimed a new bulb was put in. plugged it in for the first time and all i saw was static flickering. hooked it up to a bluray player and the menu just flickered away until the movie started playing. i tell you picture is great, but when i hooked up my appltv it just flickers and asking me to check my HDMI cable or that it may not support it. i am not sure if this is suppose to happen but it doesn't look normal.Other than that picture looks great. anyone knows why?
Frank Posted Apr 3, 2015 8:36 AM PST
To mikem, and others who have problems with flickering.

I used a standard 10m. (33feet) hdmi cable, with very bad picture, even though i used the same cable with another projector, with no problem.

I changed it to a good quality ($150) and problem was gone :-)
Joy Posted Jul 10, 2015 2:39 AM PST
I have the problem. Help! Big footy weekend no tv
Joy Posted Jul 10, 2015 2:45 AM PST
I have the same problem as I see mentioned here. I have just changed the bulb and I have a red and flashing Amber light which the book says overheating but unit is stone cold. Can anyone help please

Post a comment

Commenting on this article is easy and does not require any registration. Your email address is necessary for you to activate your comment once it has been submitted. It will not be shown to other site viewers. ProjectorCentral reserves the right to remove any comment at any time for any reason. Foul language is not permitted, nor are personal attacks. No HTML allowed. All comments should remain on topic.

Name:

Email Address:(used only to confirm your comment)

Your Comment:

(Enter the numbers as they appear to the left)