ProjectorCentral.com
WORLD'S LARGEST
PROJECTOR RESOURCE
Celebrating 20 Years
Top 10 Find a Projector Reviews Throw CalculatorCalc Buyer's Guide Expert Blogs Projector Forums
Share:
Review Contents
Best Home Theater Projectors
Performance
4
Features
Ease of Use
Value
Intended Use:
DIY Home Theater
Vivitek H1080FD Projector Vivitek H1080FD
(add to Compare List)
Go to My Compare List

Street Price: n/a
Contrast:4,000:1
Lumens:1800
Weight: 7.8 lbs
Resolution:1920x1080
Aspect Ratio:16:9
Technology:DLP
Lens:1.2x manual
Lens Shift:No
Lamp Life:2,000 Hrs
3,000 (eco)
Lamp Cost:n/a
Warranty:1 year
Connectors:  S-Video, Composite, Component, VGA In, HDMI 1.3 (x2), Audio Out, USB, RS232, 12-Volt Trigger
Video Formats:  480i, 480p, 720p, 1080i, 1080p/60, 576i, 576p

Vivitek H1080FD
1080p DLP Home Theater Projector

Bill Livolsi, October 7, 2009

Shootout:
Vivitek H1080FD versus Optoma HD20

Vivitek's H1080FD and the Optoma HD20 are the first two 1080p projectors to retail for under $1000 at launch. These two projectors share some common features, as both are portable DLP projectors with very similar brightness and contrast specifications. Both have 1.2:1 zoom lenses with fixed throw angles. Both offset the projected image by 15%, and should be mounted on the ceiling or between the seats. But there are some key differences between the two.

Lumen output. The H1080FD is rated at 1800 lumens to the HD20's 1700. That's not much of a difference, but in actual use there is more of a spread. The H1080FD's 1607 lumens in Bright mode is much brighter than the HD20's 954 lumens, and makes the H1080FD more flexible for use in ambient light. In their respective theater modes, the two projectors are much more similar, with the H1080FD measuring 712 lumens to the HD20's 633. In practical terms, the two projectors are on equal footing when calibrated for home theater.

Contrast. The H1080FD and HD20 have similar contrast specifications - the HD20 is 4000:1 while the H1080FD is 5000:1. However, when placed side by side, the difference shows - the H1080FD has noticeably higher visible contrast than the HD20, making the images on that projector more dynamic and three-dimensional than those on its competitor. The HD20 had a deeper black level, but overall its contrast does not quite match that of the H1080FD.

Color. If you want a projector that you can simply plug in and start using, the HD20 is your best bet. Out-of-the-box color accuracy is far better on the HD20 than it is on the H1080FD, and the projector needs very little adjustment to reach its peak. However, if you don't mind a little fine-tuning, the H1080FD has brighter, richer, more vibrant color post-calibration than the HD20, so do-it-yourselfers who don't mind fiddling with the picture adjustments will prefer Vivitek's offering.

Portability. Since both projectors are so small, some people will want to travel with them. The HD20 is physically smaller, though not by much. The H1080FD is lighter by about a pound, and also has one feature that the HD20 lacks - an onboard speaker. The five-watt speaker is small and tinny when compared to even the most rudimentary outboard setups, but it can accept audio signals over an HDMI link and turn the H1080FD into a complete mobile theater solution. The HD20 lacks a speaker, and so any mobile use must incorporate an alternate speaker system, such as that on a laptop.

Fan noise. The Optoma HD20 is noticeably louder than the H1080FD, in both normal and eco lamp modes. Quiet operation is typically a feature of much more expensive projectors, and it is nice to see an inexpensive model like the H1080FD that has so little fan noise. Fan noise on the HD20 will be more of an issue if you want to set the unit between the seats right next to the viewer. Both projectors will fade into the background if ceiling mounted.

Rainbows. The Optoma HD20 has a 4x-speed color wheel with RGBRGB segments, while the H1080FD has a 3x-speed wheel with RGBCMY segments. All this gibberish means that we saw more rainbows on the H1080FD than we did on the HD20. If you are sensitive to rainbows, you will have to consider the trade-off: you can get better contrast and color on the H1080FD, but you will see more rainbows.

Conclusion

Vivitek's H1080FD is among the first 1080p projectors to launch at a retail price of $999. People still are not quite sure what to expect from projectors in this range. You might notice that all of the H1080FD's advantages have to do with image quality. This is for good reason; the projector looks fantastic for the price. Conversely, most of the H1080FD's quirks relate to user interface. The projector has some weaknesses, to be certain - navigating and using the menu system is annoying, color calibration takes some effort, and the color temperature presets do not seem to do anything at all. That said, these issues can be worked around, and once you have the projector set up and tuned to your liking, you won't have to deal with them during everyday use.

The H1080FD is a great choice for HD sports and video game display to large-screen home theater. If you have children who play video games and you already own a projector, the H1080FD would be a great second projector to preserve lamp hours on your higher-end primary unit. Photography display is bright and dynamic, with plenty of three-dimensionality; furthermore, rainbows artifacts are a non-issue for still images, and the H1080FD is clearly a great choice as a photography projector.

For $999, the H1080FD offers an excellent value proposition. If you can ignore or work around the projector's quirks, it offers a beautiful image for very little money, and can be a great first step into large-screen home theater.

Previous Page
Limitations
Review Contents: Advantages Limitations Shootout vs Optoma
Comments (15) Post a Comment
Jimbo Posted Oct 27, 2009 5:59 AM PST
Would love to see these compared with the Benq W1000 and the Mitsubishi HC3800.
Eric Posted Nov 20, 2009 8:52 PM PST
I just purchased this projector based on this review. What are your preferred settings?
Keith Davies Posted Nov 28, 2009 12:46 PM PST
I have just received a Vivitec H1085 rated at 2000 lumens and 5000-1 contrast. I note that the menu position is movable and reasy to use. I do not yet have a screen and projected onto an off white wall {buttercup white}. Even with all the lights on the 120inch image was very watchable and when the lights were turned down the picture was extremely good. I did notice some colour flashes or"rainbows" while watchingthe DVD "Tristan and Isolde" but I was watching intently for "rainbows" and would honestly say that I saw very few and was not troubled by them.This may not be the same for everyone. My previous experience of projectors has been LCD projectors at work and this is my first home cinema projector. Please can anyone give me advice regarding a screen as my viewing room has a white ceiling and light coloured walls and a maple floor with light coloured furnishings. WHITE or HIGH CONTRAST GREY?
Diddiz Posted Dec 15, 2009 1:44 PM PST
I have never viewed a DLP projector until now. The rainbow effect has fully engaged me and i cannot use this projector. Especially for video games. First person shooters with white crosshairs became a blur of rainbows for me and left me with a sense of vertigo. Maybe Im just overly sensitive to the rainbow effect but my girlfriend also noticed it when reading words off the screen. Also, there was a pulsing effect coming from the screen when viewing at 24fps that was annoying. Not to mention the reddish hugh all along the upper righ half of the screen and the light leakege out of the front of the projector is visible on your ceiling and sidewalls.

This was going to replace my Sanyo Z60 and it did look much better and impressive when i originally set them up side by side, especially in brightness. However with all the set backs on this thing I would not give it a very good rating. I wish i would have went with the Optoma HD20 for the same money since it has the 4x color wheel which lessens the rainbow effect, the biggest set back i feel from the vivitek.
ketan Posted Jun 9, 2010 6:44 AM PST
if i were to compare vivitk 1080 to panasonic ae4000 which would be better for home theatre.
LAM cti19124 Posted Jun 12, 2010 10:18 PM PST
Can you tell me which model is the best would like to buy one of those? thanks
Sam Jos Posted Aug 1, 2010 1:49 PM PST
after reviewing somanypro & users reviews online, I choose to buy Vivitek 1080FD, & was impressed with its performance, but to my great dismise,bulb just blown within 15-20 hours usage, eventhough using with surge protector. I had read premature bulb blown out with Epson 6100, but I experienced it within 1 month. Amazon asked me to contact Vivitek people without any further help, let me see if vivitek people agree with 90 days bulb warranty & supply me with free replacement bulb..... So NEW POTENTIAL BUYERS of vivitek 1080FD - please BEWARE of this possible havok!!!!!
sudhakar rao Posted Dec 4, 2010 5:48 AM PST
vivtek lamp is not sold by retailers. it is difficult to obtain it on line. when you call vivitek, there is a recording. difficult to get service. I spoke to a woman.I want a lamp for my projector. she said" is that all you want from us?"then she hung up.
Nathan Posted Aug 17, 2011 3:09 PM PST
I have owned this projector for 13 months. After 11 months the projector began flickering. I contacted Vivitek and received a repair order number. I was told I would have to pay to ship the projector across the country to be repaired. Before I boxed the projector up I decided to watch several movies on it to make sure it was still flickering so that I would not waste my money shipping it only to have it returned not diagnosed. The flickering did not occur then so I did not send the projector to be repaired. One month later the flickering returned HORRIBLY!!! I contacted the company and they said I was now out of warranty! They had the problem documented prior to the lapse of the one year warranty period but did not want to accept repair of the unit because it was now barely out of warranty.
RyanR Posted Oct 17, 2011 1:15 PM PST
The projector was great for the first 250 hours then the bulb began flickering. (FYI I am at 5500ft and I am using the obnoxiously loud High Altitude mode. Vivitek support states that you will void your warranty and can except extremely short bulb life if you live above 5000ft and do not use this mode. It is unfortunate because it is whisper quiet on normal mode and sounds like a vacuum hanging from my ceiling in high altitude mode.)

I switched the bulb to High mode and this eliminated the flickering so I continued using the projector. Now at about 520 hours the flickering is back in High mode and if I switch to Low mode its like a strobe light.

I will be contacting their support again tonight but it seems like flickering/bulb issues may be a problem with this device.
jpn Posted Oct 30, 2011 4:37 AM PST
Flickering intermettent issues since i have this pj... Now at 800h hours of usage, hdmi port #1 is not working anymore (pink colour all over) under ports are still ok. Will begin rma process monday morning, its suppose to be covered until march 2012... Based on the reviews i hope its not going to be a nightmare to get it replace...
Anthony Posted Dec 20, 2011 1:50 PM PST
Have owned this projector since August of 2010 and the flickering problem started within 45 days of purchase and installation...sent the projector back (shipping prepaid from my own pocket) to Vivitek and they kept it for approximately a month and "could not duplicate the problem". So, it was returned to me and the problem they could not see on their end was still there. This is a well known problem with this model now and Vivitek refuses to acknowledge or repair. They did however offer to send me a refurbished model at no charge...let's see... you buy a new product 45 days earlier, have problems, send it in for repair, they cannot see the problem, and still yet offer you a refurbished unit? Sounds like they know something but won't admit to it. I paid for a "NEW" unit and expected a "NEW" replacement. My last VIVITEK purchase for sure...$1000 is not a cheap projector and it most certainly should have come with a satisfation guarantee but DID NOT...STAY AWAY FROM THIS MODEL or STAY AWAY FROM VIVITEK...VERY POOR COMPANY AND SERVICE AND PRODUCT!
Rodrick Posted Apr 10, 2014 12:59 PM PST
If anyone is still dealing with this flickering problem, READ THIS. I dealt with this for about 6 months and tried everything. I finally fixed the issue by removing the black circular panel around the lens, so that more air could flow through the projector. I also took the whole thing apart and blew it out with a leaf blower to get all the dust out. After doing that it works like a charm, even in regular mode. Previously I could only get it to stay on for about 5-10 minutes even in high-altitude mode.
Brandon Posted Mar 7, 2015 2:13 PM PST
Rodrick,

How did you remove that black piece? Does it just pop off are there screws etc? I have the flickering and its really bothering me.
Bill Posted Sep 1, 2015 8:24 AM PST
I own two Vivitec 1080FD projectors, one used at our company, and one used at home. I have never experience 'any' flicker whatsoever. I live basically at sea level though so perhaps this is a high altitude problem. These projectors have been in regular use for multiple years, the home projector in daily use for 8 hours a day for over three months and no issues.

I just want to provide some perspective here, I'm sure the other posts are genuine, just not necessarily the complete picture of ownership. I love the quietness and performance and price point. If you look now on projector central for 1080 and low sound you will pay $1000 more for the cheapest option.

Post a comment

Commenting on this article is easy and does not require any registration. Your email address is necessary for you to activate your comment once it has been submitted. It will not be shown to other site viewers. ProjectorCentral reserves the right to remove any comment at any time for any reason. Foul language is not permitted, nor are personal attacks. No HTML allowed. All comments should remain on topic.

Name:

Email Address:(used only to confirm your comment)

Your Comment:

(Enter the numbers as they appear to the left)